NZ U20 team named for final pool match against Argentina     12 Jun 2009    

1. Ma’afu Fia (Manawatu)
2. Shae Tamati (Hawke’s Bay)
3. Hamish Cochrane (Canterbury)
4. Alex Ryan (Southland)
5. Leighton Price (captain, Hawke’s Bay)
6. Shahn Eru (Wellington)
7. Bernie Hall (Canterbury)
8. Trent Boswell - Wakefield (Hawke’s Bay)
9. Nalu Tuigamala (North Harbour)
10. Tom Taylor (Canterbury)
11. Ken Pisi (North Harbour)
12. Shaun Treeby (Wellington)
13. Nafi Tuitavake (North Harbour)
14. Teddy Stanaway (Auckland)
15. Robbie Robinson (Southland)

16. Brayden Mitchell (Southland)
17. Latu Talakai (Waikato)
18. Elliot Dixon (Canterbury)
19. Brendon O’Connor (Canterbury)
20. Frae Wilson (Wellington)
21. Zac Guildford (Hawke’s Bay)
22. Codey Rei (Taranaki)

Hawke’s Bay’s Leighton Price has been named captain for this match as Aaron Cruden is unavailable for selection due to a thigh injury. Manawatu’s Wille Ioane was also unavailable for selection due to an ankle injury.

This match follows the 19-0 win over Ireland in New Zealand’s second pool game on Tuesday. That match saw two tries from Wellington’s Shaun Treeby and Auckland’s Winston Stanley.

“The Irish game as expected was a tough physical encounter. They pressured us into a number of mistakes, slowed down our ball and we learnt a lot from this game.

“This game against Argentina is effectively a quarter final and that is the way we are approaching it,” said Rennie.

Argentina has had a win and a loss in pool play, losing to Ireland 9-16 in their first match and beating Uruguay 33-15 in their second game.

SKY TV’s Rugby Channel will be broadcasting the semifinals and the final live on the Rugby Channel. TVNZ’s TV One will be broadcasting the semi finals delayed at 11.00pm and the final delayed at 10.00pm.