New Zealand Under 19 triallists named     25 Nov 2004    

The training squad has a fresh look about it with only three players - Auckland’s Nick Afoa, Hawke’s Bay’s Hikawera Elliot and Wellington’s Seminar Manu - returning from this year’s IRB Under 19 World Championship-winning side.

Another high-profile trial squad member is Tanerau Latimer, who played for the New Zealand Sevens and New Zealand Schools teams this year.

The triallists will assemble in Rotorua from 9-13 December and will work on skill development with a group of NZRU resource coaches, including Graham Mourie, Ian Jones, NZ Under 21 coach Bryce Woodward, NZ Under 21 assistant coach Dennis Brown and specialist scrum coach Mike Cron.

“The players will receive specialist coaching from our high quality coaches which I think is important for their development,” said McLean.

A trial match will be played on Monday 13 December. The IRB Under 19 World Championship will be held next year. The date and venue for the competition is yet to be released.

New Zealand Under 19 trial squad: Nick Afoa, Ben Blakely, Daniel Bowden, Roimata Hansell-Puni, Brenton Helleur, Isaia Ioeva, Chris Lowrey, Leo Talui and Sherwin Stowers (Auckland); Jason Hona, Tanerau Latimer and Lance McDonald (Bay of Plenty); Steve Alfeld, Tim Bateman, Keiran Black, Phil Burleigh, Johnathon Direen, Robbie Flynn, Thomas Gilmore, Bayden Phillips, Chris Small, Nicholas Thomson and Scott Vessey (Canterbury); Sekope Kepu, Sione Lea and Thomas Short (Counties Manukau); Hikawera Elliot (Hawke’s Bay); Adrian Barone, Dean Budd, Nick Crosswell, Scott Murphy, Leon Power and George Whitelock (Manawatu); Hone Wanden (King Country); Garath McIlroy (Nelson Bays); Maehe Austin (Poverty Bay); Justin Davies and Rene Ranger (Northland); Emrys McCarley and George Pisi (North Harbour); Jeremy McKay (North Otago); Glen Dickson, Neil Douglas and Simon Forrest (Otago); Josh Berkhuis, Bob Dowling and Dane Shelford (Southland); Dane Coles, Tom Everton, Fafili Levave, Tama Makamaka, Seminar Manu, Tomasi Palu, Michael Pehi and Victor Vito (Wellington); Hikairo Forbes, Romana Graham, Vern Kamo and Luke Katene (Waikato)