2009 Heartland XV named     04 Nov 2009    

The Heartland XV was announced today following the finals of the Meads Cup, won by Wanganui, and the Lochore Cup final, won by North Otago, on Saturday.

The team was selected by former All Blacks selector Earle Kirton and Heartland XV coach Guy Lennox (Wanganui) and assistant coach Grainger Heikell (Poverty Bay).

New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) General Manager of Provincial Union and Community Rugby Brent Anderson welcomed the team naming as great recognition for the Heartland players and a celebration of Heartland rugby talent.

“There is a huge honour in rugby to be able to pull on the black jersey and play for a national side that represents the best of community and Heartland rugby. It’s also a great tribute to the provinces that nine of the 12 unions that played in the 2009 Heartland Championship are represented in this side,” Mr Anderson said.

“While it was initially thought a Heartland XV would not assemble this year, it’s great that we have been able to offer the team a one-off match against a team made up of Marist players from throughout the country and we thank NZ Marist for fielding a team for the Heartland XV to play,” he said.

One player remains to be named and will be confirmed late this week.

The 2009 Heartland XV is:

Cole Baldwin (Wanganui)
Josh Cornish (West Coast)
Cameron Crowley (Wanganui)
Jon Dampney (Mid Canterbury)
Aarin Dunster (King Country)
James Ferguson (West Coast)
Jason Forrest (North Otago)
Matthew Gilbert (Wanganui)
David Gower (Wanganui)
Fraser Hammond (Wanganui)
Ben Hewitson (South Canterbury)
Scott Leighton (Poverty Bay)
Lei’ataua Limuloa-Tahafee (North Otago)
Kevin Moore (Buller)
Sione Ngatu (Poverty Bay)
Nick Olson (Wairarapa Bush)
Kane Quinlan (King Country)
Jason Rickard (Mid Canterbury)
Peter Rowe (Wanganui)
Aseli Tikoirotuma (Wanganui
Lasa Ulukuta (Wanganui)