NZ Sevens squad for London and Edinburgh named

Getty Images     14 May 2010     Getty Images

Taranaki teenager Beauden Barrett will have a double reason to celebrate as he makes his New Zealand Sevens debut and also celebrates his 19th birthday while away with the team.

Tietjens has named a full strength squad with Bay of Plenty’s Solomon King, Counties Manukau’s Sherwin Stowers and Manawatu’s Lote Raikabula all returning to the team from injury.

Tietjens said he was confident he would be fielding his strongest team for the last two tournaments of the season.

“It’s great to have Lote, Solomon and Sherwin back into the mix and have a fully fit team. All the players know they really have to dig deep and lift our game for these next two tournaments if we want overtake Samoa and win the series,” he said.

New Zealand is currently in second place on the IRB World Sevens Series ladder, three points behind Samoa.

New Zealand Sevens team for London and Edinburgh:

Kurt Baker (Taranaki)
Beauden Barrett (Taranaki)
Tomasi Cama (Manawatu)
DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)
Solomon King (Bay of Plenty)
Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)
Zar Lawrence (Bay of Plenty)
Lote Raikabula (Manawatu)
Ben Souness (Taranaki)
Toby Arnold (Bay of Plenty)
Sherwin Stowers (Counties Manukau)
Save Tokula (Waikato)

2009/2010 IRB World Sevens Series schedule:
22-23 May 2010 – London, England
29-30 May 2010 – Edinburgh, Scotland

London tournament (all times are local)

22 May – New Zealand v Wales, 11.58am
22 May – New Zealand v Portugal, 3.04pm
22 May – New Zealand v Kenya, 7.06pm

23 May – Finals day

Edinburgh tournament (all times are local)

29 May – New Zealand v Russia, 10.19am
29 May – New Zealand v Italy, 1.45pm
29 May – New Zealand v South Africa, 5.55pm

30 May – Finals day