New Zealand Sevens squad named for 2010 Commonwealth Games     04 Aug 2010    

The squad has a wealth of experience with eight of the players named all part of the current 2009/2010 National Sevens squad. Steinlager Series All Blacks Zac Guildford and Adam Thomson have also been named as well as Otago utility back Ben Smith and Wellington winger Hosea Gear, both 2009 All Blacks.

Coach Gordon Tietjens said he was very pleased with the squad named today.

“My core national squad members have really proved themselves during the World Series and have all earned their spots in this team.

“We have also been lucky enough to be able to add to that with high calibre and experienced players,” he added.

New Zealand Olympic Committee secretary general and Commonwealth Games head selector, Barry Maister, is delighted to name the team. “Rugby sevens is a stand-out event at the Commonwealth Games,” he said. “Since it first featured on the Commonwealth Games schedule in Kuala Lumpur in 1998, New Zealand has come home victorious each time. I’m certainly looking forward to an exciting competition and New Zealand fans will be too.”

Wellington’s Julian Savea and Bay of Plenty’s Solomon King have been named as stand-by players and will travel with the squad to Dubai on 1 October and then the 12-man Commonwealth Games team will continue on to Delhi on 6 October. All 14 players will also assemble for a two-day camp in Auckland on 23-24 August.

The total New Zealand Commonwealth Games squad is expected to number 195 athletes and 100 support staff. The team will come together to honour Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay.

The final selections will be made in early August and the Commonwealth Games take place in Delhi, India, October 3 – 14 2010.

The Commonwealth Games will attract more than 4500 athletes from 71 countries to compete in 17 sports.