Heartland XV squad announced     25 Oct 2010    

The squad includes some experienced Heartland players with Wanganui winger Cameron Crowley making his third appearance in the Heartland jersey. Crowley was also the 2008 Heartland Player of the Year.

Wanganui’s Peter Rowe has been named for the fourth time, having been included in 2006, 2007 and 2009.

Heartland Championship current top points scorer Joshua Hamilton has also been named in the squad. The first five-eighth from Horowhenua Kapiti is also one of the leading try scorers in the competition with ten tries.

The team will not lack in leadership with four provincial team captains named in the side, they are: Matthew Gilbert (Wanganui), James Ferguson (West Coast), Ngarimu Simpkins (Poverty Bay) and Jason Rickard (Mid Canterbury).

The squad also includes eight players who were members of the 2009 team and seven players who have played 50 or more games for their province.

Coach Guy Lennox said he was extremely pleased with the three-match programme.

“These three sides are going to provide the team with very competitive matches that will challenge my side.

“We believe that we have named a strong team with a lot of experience and I know the players will be looking forward to getting out there and representing their unions and the Heartland with pride,” he added.

The Heartland XV will play matches against New Zealand Marist in Wanganui on Saturday 6 November, a New Zealand Defence Force XV on Wednesday 10 November in Levin, and a Parramatta Invitation XV in Sydney on Saturday 13 November.

2010 Heartland XV:


Cole Baldwin*^ Wanganui
Joshua Collier North Otago
Aarin Dunster*^ King Country
Daniel Dwyer# Mid Canterbury
Matthew Gilbert*#^ Wanganui
Karl Gemmell Poverty Bay
Fraser Hammond* Wanganui
Sione Ngatu*^ Poverty Bay
Tim Perry Mid Canterbury
Jason Rickard*# Mid Canterbury
Peter Rowe*^ Wanganui
Ngarimu Simpkins Poverty Bay
Jon Smyth Wanganui


Cameron Crowley*# Wanganui
Mark Davis Wanganui
Benjamin Draper King Country
James Ferguson*^ West Coast
Joshua Hamilton Horowhenua Kapiti
Billy Guyton North Otago
Steelie Koru Wanganui
James Owen South Canterbury
James Ross Horowhenua Kapiti
Kahu Tamatea^ Poverty Bay
Fa’aitu Tuamoheloa North Otago

* denotes member of 2009 Heartand XV
# denotes member of 2008 Heartland XV
^ denotes 50 or more games for their Provincial Union