Hurricanes name wider training squad for 2011     21 Dec 2010    

The eight members of the wider training group for the Hurricanes have been selected. With four forwards and four backs, the wider training group has included a number of young talented players from the Hurricanes region.

Hurricanes Wider Training Group:

Reg Goodes (Wellington)
Blade Thomson (Taranaki)
Scott Fuglistaller (Wellington)
Michael Coman (Hawke’s Bay)
TJ Perenara (Wellington)
Beauden Barrett (Taranaki)
Jayden Hayward (Taranaki)
Richard Buckman (Hawke’s Bay)

New Hurricanes Coach, Mark Hammett, looked to the future when the selection was being made. “Our thoughts behind the selection were of succession planning, looking to the future. The boys selected are a reflection of hard work done in their provinces.”

The wider training group comprises of three Wellington players, three from Taranaki, and two from Hawke’s Bay.

“A number of these boys could be straight into the squad if we get injuries over the season, so we see these guys as a part of the squad and will work with the team throughout the season. They have all come through the different academies and we see this as part of their progression to the top.”

Hurricanes 2011 squad:

Michael Bent, James Broadhurst, Dane Coles, Laurence Corlett, Aaron Cruden, Chris Eaton, Jason Eaton, Jacob Ellison, Bryn Evans, Hosea Gear, Andrew Hore, Cory Jane, Tyson Keats, Daniel Kirkpatrick, Jack Lam, Alipati Leiua, Faifili Levave, Serge Lilo, Karl Lowe, Charlie Ngatai, Ma'a Nonu, Anthony Perenise, Mark Reddish, Julian Savea, John Schwalger, Conrad Smith, Rodney So'oialo, Andre Taylor, Jeremy Thrush, Neemia Tialata, Victor Vito, Piri Weepu.