Classic All Blacks beat Classic Wallabies for charity

Getty Images

James Mortimer     11 Mar 2011     Getty Images

The score line though was secondary, as the event raised almost $300,000 AUD for the Christchurch earthquake relief fund.

The jerseys from the respective teams will also be auctioned off, with money raised from the Classic All Blacks going towards Christchurch rugby clubs affected by the quake, while money from the home team’s jerseys will go towards the Queensland flood and cyclone relief effort.

Roughly 20,000 were on hand to watch a star-studded encounter, where some players who had not laced on boots for years were on display, in a game that was split into four 20 minute quarters, with unlimited substitutions.

A minute’s silence was held prior to the match to honour the 166 people so far confirmed dead by the February 22 quake.

Classic All Blacks captain Reuben Thorne paid homage to people “back home” while acknowledging the players who volunteered for the cause on short notice.

Jeff Wilson scored the opening try, while many players showed they still had it, with Christian Cullen in particular constantly cutting through the defence.

While the Classic All Blacks might not have been as fast or as fit as their test counterparts, they still showcased a fearsome rendition of the haka before the match.

Classic Wallabies:

Forwards: Andrew Heath, Andy McIntyre, Dan Crowley, Richard Harry, Tom Lawton, Sean Hardman, Jeremy Paul, Garrick Morgan , Mark Connors, Sam Scott-Young, Toutai Kefu, Scott Gourley, David Croft, Duncan Hall

Backs: Greg Martin (captain), George Gregan, Tim Horan, Pat Howard, Nathan Spooner, Anthony Herbert, James Grant, Peter Jorgensen, David Campese, Nathan Williams, Paul Carozza, Chris Latham

Classic All Blacks:

Forwards: Reuben Thorne (captain), Scott Robertson, Ian Jones, Kees Meeuws, Craig Dowd, Slade McFarland, Deon Muir, Kelvin Middleton, Thomas Maling, Hayden Scown, Charles Riechelmann, Justin Collins, Dustin Watts

Backs: Justin Marshall, Christian Cullen, Jeff Wilson, Glen Osborne, Caleb Ralph, Karl Te Nana, Frank Bunce, Ofisa Tonuu, Charles Hore, David Holwell, Jason Spice