2012 Investec Super Rugby Squads announced     03 Nov 2011    

A total of 28 brand new faces feature in the squads named today by the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders and Highlanders. Another five familiar faces – Tusi Pisi, Tamati Ellison, Tim Bateman, Ross Kennedy and Rudi Wulf – all return from overseas to make their re-entry to the Super Rugby stage next year.

New Zealand Rugby Union General Manager Professional Rugby Neil Sorensen said the 153 players contracted into the five squads included an enticing mix of seasoned All Blacks, and real new talent coming through New Zealand rugby ranks.

“These five Investec Super Rugby teams are the strongest and most exciting we have ever seen straight off the back of a Rugby World Cup year. It’s reassuring that while some of our senior players are taking the next phase of their rugby careers offshore – the depth of talent available to Super Rugby selectors this year has been impressive,” Sorensen said.

Five Pacific Island and foreign players who starred in the recent Rugby World Cup have also been picked in the squads, including England No 8 James Haskell who will join the Highlanders after completing a spell with the Ricoh Black Rams in Japan. After a two-year stint in France, Haskell will return to his old team London Wasps at the conclusion of his season with the Southern men. Others coming in from World Cup duty are new Hurricane Tusi Pisi (Samoa), and new Chiefs Kane Thompson, Mahonri Schwalger (both Samoa), and Sona Taumalolo (Tonga).

“The full transition to the new franchise contracting structure has again delivered an outstanding set of competitive, exciting and dynamic New Zealand Super Rugby teams.

Features of this year’s Investec Super Rugby selections include:
• 153 players across the five Investec Super Rugby franchises
• 28 players new to Super Rugby
• Of the 28, 12 ‘bolters’ were picked on 2011 ITM Cup form
• Eight players from the 2011 IRB Junior World Champions Under 20 side
• Two members of the IRB World Series winning Sevens team
• 14 players changing franchise colours

“For many New Zealanders, being involved in rugby has been an amazing experience in a Rugby World Cup winning year. With such a fantastic line up of teams from the New Zealand franchises, I am sure they will bring something special to the 2012 Investec Super Rugby season,” Sorensen said.

Official Blues player profiles can be viewed here.
Official Chiefs player profiles can be viewed here.
Official Hurricanes player profiles can be viewed here.
Official Crusaders player profiles can be viewed here.
Official Highlanders player profiles can be viewed here.

2012 Investec Super Rugby Squads


Gareth Anscombe
Anthony Boric
Daniel Braid
Luke Braid
Charlie Faumuina
Michael Hobbs
Jerome Kaino
Chris Lowrey
Tevita Mailau
Pauliasi Manu
Alby Mathewson
Tom McCartney
Keven Mealamu
Brad Mika
George Moala
Liaki Moli
Lachie Munro
Ma’a Nonu
Filo Paulo
David Raikuna
Rene Ranger
Peter Saili
Benson Stanley
Sherwin Stowers
Angus Ta’avao
Isaia Toeava
Piri Weepu
Ali Williams
Tony Woodcock
Rudi Wulf
Benson Stanley
Sherwin Stowers
Angus Ta’avao
Isaia Toeava
Piri Weepu
Ali Williams
Tony Woodcock
Rudi Wulf


Ben Afeaki
Alex Bradley
Sam Cane
Craig Clarke
Shane Cleaver
Aaron Cruden
Hika Elliot
Mike Fitzgerald
Romana Graham
Andrew Horrell
Richard Kahui
Tawera Kerr-Barlow
Tanerau Latimer
Fritz Lee
Brendon Leonard
Lelia Masaga
Liam Messam
Tim Nanai-Williams
Maritino Nemani
Declan O’Donnell
Brodie Retallick
Robbie Robinson
Mahonri Schwalger
Toby Smith
Ben Tameifuna
Sona Taumalolo
Kane Thompson
Asaeli Tikoirotuma
Scott Waldrom
Sonny Bill Williams
Jackson Willison


Jeffery Toomaga-Allen
Beauden Barrett
Tim Bateman
Michael Bent
James Broadhurst
Richard Buckman
Dane Coles
Jason Eaton
Chris Eaton
Reggie Goodes
David Hall
Jayden Hayward
Cory Jane
Daniel Kirkpatrick
Jack Lam
Alapati Leiua
Faifili Levave
Karl Lowe
Motu Matu’u
Ben May
Tristan Moran
Charlie Ngatai
TJ Perenara
Tusi Pisi
Mark Reddish
Julian Savea
Brad Shields
Conrad Smith
Chris Smylie
Andre Taylor
Jeremy Thrush
Victor Vito


Nicholas Barrett
Tyler Bleyendaal
Daniel Carter
Wyatt Crockett
Ryan Crotty
Israel Dagg
Tom Donnelly
Andy Ellis
Corey Flynn
Ben Franks
Owen Franks
Robbie Fruean
Ben Funnell
Zac Guildford
Willi Heinz
Ross Kennedy
Quentin MacDonald
Sean Maitland
Tom Marshall
Richie McCaw
Patrick Osborne
Kieran Read
Luke Romano
Tom Taylor
Matt Todd
Joe Wheeler
Sam Whitelock
George Whitelock
Adam Whitelock
Luke Whitelock


Kurt Baker
Josh Bekhuis
Jimmy Cowan
Nick Crosswell
Elliot Dixon
Tamati Ellison
Ma’afu Fia
Hosea Gear
John Hardie
James Haskell
Jarrad Hoeata
Andrew Hore
Chris King
Kendrick Lynn
Jamie Mackintosh
Nasi Manu
Bronson Murray
Chris Noakes
Siale Piutau
Kade Poki
Culum Retallick
Jason Rutledge
Colin Slade
Aaron Smith
Ben Smith
Lima Sopoaga
Adam Thomson
Doug Tietjens
Shaun Treeby
Telusa Veainu