New Zealand Sevens team named for HSBC Sevens World Series

Getty Images     19 Nov 2011     Getty Images

Tietjens has named four new caps in his squad with 2011 New Zealand Under 20 players – Waikato’s Glen Robertson and Auckland’s Charles Piutau – both featuring.

Waikato’s Joe Webber and Tasman’s James Marshall will also both wear the New Zealand Sevens strip for the first time this season.

Tietjens said the training camp in Mount Manganui this week was very competitive making it a very tough selection process.

“All the players trained very hard over the last few days and I was impressed with the way the four new players really stepped up and worked extremely hard for their spots.

“The team are really looking forward to heading to the Gold Coast where we know a lot of kiwis are based, so hopefully we’ll get some good support,” he said.

New Zealand is looking to claim their tenth World Series title this season after being crowned World Series Champions for a record ninth time in May.

The Australian leg of the Series will take place in the Gold Coast for the first time this season, having previously been played in Adelaide.

The squad departs Auckland for the Gold Coast on Monday 21 November on QF126 at 3.35pm.

New Zealand Sevens squad for Gold Coast, Dubai and Port Elizabeth:

Toby Arnold Bay of Plenty

Tomasi Cama Manawatu

Scott Curry Bay of Plenty

DJ Forbes, captain Counties Manukau

Frank Halai Waikato

Solomon King North Harbour

Tim Mikkelson Waikato

James Marshall Tasman

Lote Raikabula Wellington

Charles Piutau Auckland

Glen Robertson Waikato

Joe Webber Waikato

HSBC Sevens World Series dates

25-26 November 2011 – Gold Coast, Australia
2-3 December 2011 – Dubai
9-10 December 2011 – Post Elizabeth, South Africa
3-4 February 2012 – Wellington, New Zealand
10-12 February 2012 – Las Vegas, USA
23-25 March 2012 – Hong Kong
31 March-1 April – Japan
5-6 May 2011 – Edinburgh, Scotland
12-13 May 2011 – London, England