Sharks named for SuperRugby Final

Getty Images     03 Aug 2012     Getty Images

Sharks Coach John Plumtree has been able to consistently name the same pack over the Final Series which obviously boosts the team’s confidence when that pack is delivering such commanding performances, and they will be asked to put in one last massive effort to lay the platform for the backs in this potentially history-making game.

Jordaan at inside centre is a straight swap for the injured Whitehead, while Lambie will start at fullback with Riaan Viljoen playing off the bench, with an otherwise unchanged line-up, one that differs significantly to the team that lost by four points to the Chiefs in the pool stages.

With a near full strength side to pick from, pretty much unheard of at the climax of a long tournament, John Plumtree explains that it does add to the belief that the team can do the job on Saturday.

“There has been some continuity in selection which has been great, at this time of the competition it’s really important, but at the same time, we’ve had some injuries as well, particularly to our midfield.

“So it’s fantastic having Pat Lambie and Paul Jordaan coming back into contention. We’re a bit lucky with the backs because we’ve lost a couple through injury, so having some come back at this stage is vital. Being able to select the same pack for the past few weeks has been great.”

Bismarck du Plessis has shrugged off added meaning to this game by virtue of the fact that he is also making his 100th appearance in Super Rugby for The Sharks. Certainly, a win will make celebrating his achievement that much sweeter.

The Sharks

1. Tendai Mtawarira
2. Bismarck du Plessis *
3. Jannie du Plessis
4. Willem Alberts
5. Anton Bresler
6. Keegan Daniel ( C )
7. Marcell Coetzee
8. Ryan Kankowski
9. Charl McLeod
10. Frederic Michalak
11. Lwazi Mvovo
12. Paul Jordaan
13. JP Pietersen
14. Louis Ludik
15. Patrick Lambie

16. Craig Burden
17. Wiehahn Herbst
18. Steven Sykes
19. Jacques Botes
20. Jean Deysel
21. Meyer Bosman
22. Riaan Viljoen

* 100th Super Rugby cap.