Beale named on Wallabies bench

Getty Images     25 Aug 2012     Getty Images

This year’s Australian Under-20 captain will become the 861st player to have represented Australia in Tests should he be inserted into the game.

Gill is one of four forwards named, alongside the three backs, who include last week’s starting players, inside centre Anthony Fainga’a and fullback Kurtley Beale.

Hooker Tatafu Polota Nau has been ruled out after failing to overcome the discomfort provided by deep-seated bruising at today’s Captain’s Run at Eden Park.

His place has been taken by Queensland Reds hooker Saia Fainga’a, who joins his twin brother Anthony on the bench.

The Wallabies completed their preparations for the game with a light session at Eden Park this afternoon.

The full Qantas Wallabies line-up to play New Zealand is:

15. Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs)
14. Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs)
13. Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs)
12. Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs)
11. Digby Ioane (Queensland Reds)
10. Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds)
9. Will Genia (Queensland Reds, captain)
8. Scott Higginbotham (Queensland Reds)
7. Michael Hooper (Brumbies)
6. Dave Dennis (NSW Waratahs)
5. Nathan Sharpe (Western Force)
4. Sitaleki Timani (NSW Waratahs)
3. Ben Alexander (Brumbies)
2. Stephen Moore (Brumbies)
1. Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs)


16. Saia Fainga’a (Queensland Reds)
17. James Slipper (Queensland Reds)
18. Radike Samo (Queensland Reds)
19. Liam Gill (Queensland Reds)
20. Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels)
21. Anthony Fainga’a (Queensland Reds)
22. Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels)