Springboks add four to squad

Getty Images     24 Sep 2012     Getty Images

The four new faces in the squad who did not tour to Australasia, are the uncapped MTN Golden Lions duo of Jaco Taute (utility back) and Elton Jantjies (flyhalf), their experienced provincial team mate CJ van der Linde (prop) and Coenie Oosthuizen (prop) from the Toyota Free State Cheetahs.

“I’d always wanted to include Jaco in the squad but an untimely injury meant we could not select him earlier. Jaco is big, strong, fast and versatile and it will be good to get him involved,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“Elton was part of the squad before this season, against England in June and in the first part of The Castle Rugby Championship. He only missed out when we had to cut the numbers of the squad and it’s good to have him back.

“CJ, who took part in our training camps earlier in the season, brings a lot of experience to our pack and he is no longer injured. Apart from being the second most experienced prop in Springbok history, after Os du Randt, he is versatile and can play loosehead and tighthead.

“And it’s great to have Coenie back with us after he picked up an injury on debut in the first Test against England in June. He is a world class prop and losing him was a big setback.”

Meyer added only two scrumhalves had been selected for the Tests, which meant Jano Vermaak misses out. The national selectors felt that Vermaak is familiar with the game plan and can easily be brought back in should his services be required.

The following players, who were part of the squad earlier in the season, were not considered for selection because of injury: JP Pietersen, Bjorn Basson, Pierre Spies, Siya Kolisi, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Bismarck du Plessis.


Willem Alberts
Andries Bekker
Craig Burden
Pat Cilliers
Marcell Coetzee
Juan de Jongh
Jean de Villiers (captain)
Jannie du Plessis
Eben Etzebeth
Johan Goosen
Bryan Habana
Francois Hougaard
Elton Jantjies
Zane Kirchner
Juandré Kruger
Pat Lambie
Tiaan Liebenberg
Francois Louw
Tendai Mtawarira
Lwazi Mvovo
Coenie Oosthuizen
Ruan Pienaar
Jacques Potgieter
Frans Steyn
Morné Steyn
Adriaan Strauss
Jaco Taute
CJ van der Linde
Flip van der Merwe
Duane Vermeulen