AllBlacks team named to play Boks     05 Oct 2012    

The team is as follows (with Test caps in brackets):

Starting XV:

1. Tony Woodcock (90)
2. Andrew Hore (70)
3. Owen Franks (39)
4. Brodie Retallick (8)
5. Samuel Whitelock (33)
6. Liam Messam (15)
7. Richie McCaw - captain (111)
8. Kieran Read (43)
9. Aaron Smith (8)
10. Daniel Carter (90)
11. Hosea Gear (11)
12. Ma'a Nonu (71)
13. Conrad Smith (61)
14. Cory Jane (36)
15. Israel Dagg (20)


16. Keven Mealamu (98)
17. Ben Franks (20)
18. Luke Romano (6)
19. Adam Thomson (27)
20. Piri Weepu (64)
21. Aaron Cruden (16)
22. Tamati Ellison (2)

The team features only two changes from the starting XV that started against Argentina in Buenos Aires - wing Hosea Gear and lock Brodie Retallick come in for Julian Savea and Luke Romano respectively, with Romano on the bench. Other changes to the bench are prop Ben Franks, loose forward Adam Thomson and outside back Tamati Ellison, who replace Charlie Faumuina, Sam Cane and Ben Smith respectively.

All Blacks Head Coach Steve Hansen said: "We are in no doubt how big the challenge is for the team this weekend but it is one we are looking forward to as it will be a real test of our resolve and character."

"South Africa are coming off a big win against Australia and will be playing in front of their home crowd at Soweto so it's going to be a huge Test match," he added.

Interesting facts
• The All Blacks have played the Springboks in 84 Tests since 1921, with 47 victories to the All Blacks, 34 to South Africa and three draws. The All Blacks last played South Africa in Dunedin three weeks ago, winning 21-11. The last Test in South Africa was in Port Elizabeth last year, with South Africa winning 18-5. The All Blacks played at FNB Stadium in 2010, winning 29-22.
• Owen Franks will play his 40th Test, while Piri Weepu looks set to make his 65th Test appearance off the bench.
• The All Blacks squad currently has six of the most capped All Blacks in history by position: Tony Woodcock (prop), Keven Mealamu (hooker), Richie McCaw (flanker), Daniel Carter (first five-eighth), Ma'a Nonu (second five-eighth) and Conrad Smith (centre).