AllBlacks Sevens beaten by Blitzbokke

Getty Images

James Mortimer     14 Oct 2012     Getty Images

The All Blacks Sevens quarter-final will take place at 12:42pm (3:42pm NZT) on Sunday against Argentina, although on Day One form DJ Forbes and his troops will have it all to do to claim their first Gold Coast title - although New Zealand did win the last tournament held in Adelaide in the 2010/2011 season.

The South Africans join hosts Australia and Samoa as the only unbeaten teams, with the home team beating Fiji 15-14 in their final pool match to progress, while Samoa defeated England 19-17 to wrap up top spot in their pool.

The Blitzbokke had a 31-7 lead against the reigning World Series champions, a command performance against a New Zealand squad fielding six debutants.

The All Blacks Sevens were able to score two converted tries in the final three minutes to give the scoreline some respectability, but there will be some concern that the South Africans were able to be so dominant even allowing for the fact they rested captain Kyle Brown and halfback Branco du Preez.

While captain Forbes, Lote Raikabula, Tim Mikkelson, Mark Jackman, Kylem O'Donnell and reigning IRB Sevens Player of the Year, Tomasi Cama, are in the squad, the other half of the All Blacks Sevens squad are making their debut at Sevens highest table.

The quarter-final draw for Day Two of the Gold Coast Sevens:

South Africa vs. France
Samoa vs. Fiji
Argentina vs. New Zealand
Australia vs. Kenya