ITMCup 2012 semifinalists confirmed     15 Oct 2012    

Canterbury's decisive 63 - 22 win over Bay of Plenty tonight confirmed they will host their ITM Cup Premiership semifinal against Taranaki. That match will be played next Saturday at 4:35pm, 20 October, at AMI Stadium, Addington, Christchurch.

Earlier today, Wellington's 33 - 17 win over Taranaki secured the Lions the other Premiership home semifinal against Auckland, at 7:05pm next Saturday 20 October at Westpac Stadium.

Semifinal action starts on Friday night with the Championship's second-placed Otago Razorbacks hosting the Tasman Makos at 7:35pm, on Friday 19 October. Despite both teams recording losses in the closing round, both sides have been secured their semifinal spots.

Championship leaders Counties Manukau will host last year's Premiership relegation team, Southland on Saturday afternoon at 2:05pm, at Pukekohe's ECOLight Stadium. Southland secured their semifinal spot after beating Manawatu 17 - 11 in a tight race for the playoffs.

Having won last year's ITM Cup Championship and their promotion into this year's Premiership, the Hawkes Bay Magpies have ended the 2012 season at the bottom of the Premiership table, meaning relegation and a return to the Championship in 2013.



ITM Cup Championship semifinal 1:
Otago v Tasman
Friday 19 October
Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kickoff: 7:35pm

ITM Cup Championship semifinal 2:
Counties Manukau v Southland
Saturday 20 October
ECOLight Stadium, Pukekohe
Kickoff: 2:05pm

ITM Cup Premiership semifinal 1:
Canterbury v Taranaki
Saturday 20 October
AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kickoff: 4:35pm

ITM Cup Premiership semifinal 2:
Wellington v Auckland
Saturday 20 October
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Kickoff: 7:05pm