Sevens stars for Counties, All Blacks for Otago in ITM Cup Championship Final

Getty Images and     26 Oct 2012     Getty Images

The Steelers will have Sevens stars DJ Forbes and Sherwin Stowers in action, while Otago have named their two All Blacks straight into their starting team.

The side remains largely unchanged for the match sponsored by Bayer. Mark Selwyn comes back in at flanker with Maama Vaipulu moving to the bench.

Steelers coach Tana Umaga said "This is a big occasion for our Counties Manukau Rugby family. We really appreciate the support we've had this season and want to repay it, by putting in our best performance on Friday night in front of our enthusiastic home crowd"

Season member's passes will gain pass holders entry into the match. Tickets are available from the Union office all week during business hours or the gate on game day from 9am.

Meanwhile Otago coach Tony Brown has brought two All Blacks into his starting team, with Ben Smith replacing Tony Ensor to start at fullback, while Tamati Ellison takes over from Jayden Spence to the bench for the match which could earn them promotion to the Premiership for next season, a remarkable turnaround after their difficulties earlier in the season.

Grandstand ticket prices are $20 for adults and $15 for students. South Auckland Motors Embankment tickets are $10 for adults and $7 for students. In a new initiative supported by Pak n Save Pukekohe and Anchor, all kids 13 years and under will be FREE to all Steelers' 2012 home games. Gates open at 1pm.

Counties Manukau:

1. Simon Lemalu
2. Mahonri Schwalger
3. Matt Talaese
4. Ronald Raaymakers
5. Daniel Adongo
6. Mark Selwyn
7. DJ Forbes
8. Jimmy Tupou
9. August Pulu
10. Baden Kerr
11. Sherwin Stowers
12. Bundee Aki
13. Rey Lee-Lo
14. Tony Pulu
15. Tim Nanai-Williams


16. Suliasi Taufalele
17. Maka Tatafu
18. Sikeli Nabou
19. Maama Vaipulu
20. David Bason
21. Kane Hancy
22. Tyrone Lefau


15-Ben Smith, 14-Marshall Suckling, 13-Tamati Ellison, 12-Glenn Dickson, 11-Buxton Popoali'i, 10-Hayden Parker, 9-Fumiaki Tanaka; 8-Gareth Evans, 7-Lee Allan, 6-Adam Thomson, 5-Rob Verbakel, 4-Jackson Hemopo, 3-Tama Tuirirangi, 2-Liam Coltman, 1-Aki Seiuli.

Reserves: Shota Horie, Jacob Ellison, Adam Hill, TJ Ioane, Peter Breen, Jayden Spence, Tony Enso