Western Province win Currie Cup Premier Division

Getty Images and James Mortimer     29 Oct 2012     Getty Images

The Currie Cup, first officially contested in 1889, has been won more times (33) by Western Province than any other side (Northern Transvaal/Blue Bulls are next on 23).

It is however Province's first title since 2001, when they went back-to-back for two years, beating this weekend's conquered opponent the Sharks on both occasions.

The visitors produced an incredibly passionate and wise performance to edge out their opponents by one try to zero, with flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis slotting a handy 17 points on the night too.

Centre Juan de Jongh danced through for a first-half try as DHL WP led 16-12 at half-time and they held on to record a famous Currie Cup victory and first since 2001, when, ironically, they beat the Sharks in Cape Town.

Under the captaincy of all-action flanker Deon Fourie tonight, this young Western Province side - with an average age of just 23 in the matchday squad - wrote themselves into the history books away from home.

Fourie - the official Absa Currie Cup Man of the Match - said afterwards: "Thanks to Keegan and their team, they showed their class the whole year.

"Thanks to everyone in the coaching staff, everyone played their part, thanks to our family and friends, girlfriends and wives and thanks to my team - a true bunch of fighters."