Final Squads named for Inaugural IRB Women's Sevens World Series and James Mortimer     01 Dec 2012    

The coaches of all 12 women's national sides set to compete at the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby Sevens have confirmed their selections 24 hours out from the tournament kick-off.


While many of the athletes have competed for their countries in international Sevens competition, including last season's three IRB Challenge Cup events, all 144 will be making history by playing in the first ever World Series event for women this weekend.

The Dubai tournament is the first of four rounds, with further stops in USA (Houston), China (Guangzhou) and Netherlands (Amsterdam).

Those four events will also serve as a form guide for the eagerly anticipated Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013, which takes place in Moscow at the end of June.

IRB Women's Development Manager, Susan Carty, said: "This is massive for the women's Game, it's amazing to see what it means to the players. Talking with the captains, they have all put so much into this. They're amateur athletes but they're professional in their approach and it means the world for the development of the women's Game.

"Big crowds are going to be watching this tournament and they're going to see an impressive standard of play from these women, who are pushing each other all the time. The exposure they will receive over the weekend will do wonders for the further development and profile of women's rugby, and that is greatly deserved by all of these teams."

IRB Women’s Sevens World Series
Round 1 – UAE: Dubai, November 30 – December 1, 2012 – 7he Sevens Stadium
Round 2 – USA: Houston, Texas, 1-2 February, 2013 - BBVA Compass Stadium
Round 3 – China: Guangzhou, 30-31 March 2013 - Guangzhou University Town Stadium
Round 4 – Netherlands: Amsterdam, 17-18 May 2013 - NRCA Stadium

Rugby World Cup Sevens, Moscow, June 28-30 2013