Final squads declared for China Sevens

Getty Images and James Mortimer     30 Mar 2013     Getty Images

WSWS leaders new Zealand include Olivia Bird of Canterbury and Kristina Sue of Manawatu for their WSWS bows, while Tyla Nathan-Wong and Ruby Tui, who did not travel to Houston, return. Taranaki’s Lauren Burgess is also a late addition, the 27-year-old replacing Manawatu’s Shakira Baker, who failed to achieve a full medical clearance.


Australia, second in the WSWS standings, welcome back captain Rebecca Tavo and Emilee Cherry from injury, while introducing two high school students - Tiana Penitani and Brooke Anderson - to their squad. They come in for Houston squad members d’Arcy Sadler and Gemma Etheridge, who have both picked up injuries.

England head Coach Barry Maddocks has made six changes to the squad that won the last WSWS tournament in Houston. Richmond duo Claire Allan and Fran Matthews, Thurrock’s Rachael Burford and Worcester’s Lydia Thompson are all set to make their Series debuts, with Burford returning from a long-term injury that has kept her sidelined all season.

Also included in the squad are Wasps’ Natasha Brennan and Richmond’s Abigail Chamberlain who both featured in the opening round of the Series in Dubai. Lichfield’s Emily Scarratt will captain England for the first time with Michaela Staniford named as vice-captain. England currently lie third in the overall WSWS standings.

New Zealand Women’s Sevens Squad for China

Olivia Bird * Canterbury
Kelly Brazier Otago
Lauren Burgess ** Taranaki
Sarah Goss Manawatu
Honey Hireme Waikato
Linda Itunu Auckland
Huriana Manual Auckland
Kayla McAlister Auckland
Tyla Nathan-Wong Auckland
Kristina Sue * Manawatu
Ruby Tui Canterbury
Portia Woodman Auckland

* denotes new cap
** denotes new call up

Guangzhou Women’s Sevens schedule (NZ Times)

Saturday 30 March
3:44pm NZ v Brazil
6:06pm NZ v Tunisia
8:48pm NZ v Netherlands

IRB Women’s Sevens World Series:

Round 1 - UAE: Dubai, 30 November-1 December 2012 - 7he Sevens (winners: New Zealand)
Round 2 – USA: Houston, Texas, 1-2 February 2013 - BBVA Compass Stadium (winners England)
Round 3 – China: Guangzhou, 30-31 March 2013 - Guangzhou University Town Stadium
Round 4 – Netherlands: Amsterdam, 17-18 May 2013 - NRCA Stadium