Sharks named to face Crusaders

Getty Images

James Mortimer     04 Apr 2013     Getty Images

Bosman, who has played 61 times for the Toyota Cheetahs and 38 for The Sharks since moving to Durban a few seasons ago, will become South Africa's 17th centurion in Super Rugby. He has been picked to start at inside centre, with Frans Steyn moving to fullback in place of the injured Louis Ludik.

Ludik is bracketed on the bench with Sbura Sithole, pending a late fitness test before the match.

In other changes to the backline, the loss of Lwazi Mvovo to a hand injury means JP Pietersen moves across to the left wing, with Odwa Ndungane slotting in on the right.

Jannie du Plessis will start at tighthead prop with Wiehahn Herbst shifting to the bench in the only change to the forward pack that crushed the Rebels.

Sharks coach John Plumtree was wary, especially after the Crusaders brilliant performance against the Stormers.

"You can't have a meltdown in an area like the lineouts, it takes good, hard work to get into an attacking situation, and then to lose ball puts you under immense pressure. And you don't want to be doing that against a team like the Crusaders who are able to hold on to the ball for long periods of time."

"The lineout has been a big focus for us, not only for this match but throughout the competition. We're operating at around 84% and we've been going OK, but it is going to be tough, the Crusaders boast All Black locks."

"The Crusaders' skill levels are really high, backs and forwards handle the ball well, our defensive plan is going to have to be very accurate. The breakdown is also going to be huge and we need to be competitive there."

The Sharks

15. Francois Steyn
14. Odwa Ndungane
13. Paul Jordaan
12. Meyer Bosman
11. JP Pietersen
10. Patrick Lambie
9. Cobus Reinach
8. Keegan Daniel (C)
7. Marcell Coetzee
6. Jacques Botes
5. Franco van der Merwe
4. Pieter-Steph du Toit
3. Jannie du Plessis
2. Kyle Cooper
1. Tendai Mtawarira


16. Craig Burden
17. Wiehahn Herbst
18. Anton Bresler
19. Ryan Kankowski
20. Charl McLeod
21. Riaan Viljoen
22. Louis Ludik/S'bura Sithole