Waratahs named for Hurricanes

Getty Images and James Mortimer     05 Apr 2013     Getty Images

The Wallabies prop will start alongside Benn Robinson and hooker John Ulugia. Waratahs coach Michael Cheika has left the rest of the starting XV unchanged, following last Sunday’s 23-19 victory over the Western Force. The match will also see lock Kane Douglas make his 50th appearance for NSW.

With Tatafu Polota-Nau unavailable for selection, the Waratahs welcome back to action Wycliff Palu, who returns from an ankle injury to take his place on the bench in the only other change to the matchday 22. After making his NSW debut in last weekend’s home win, lock Jed Holloway has been released for club duty and will play for Southern Districts in their first round Shute Shield clash against Eastwood.

Also in action in the Shute Shield this Saturday are Sydney University locks Ollie Atkins and Will Skelton and centre pairing Tom Carter and Michael Hodge. Greg Peterson will also play for Manly.

Following this weekend’s round 8 Super Rugby match, the Waratahs have a bye in week 9 before they prepare to host last year’s Super Rugby champions the Chiefs at Allianz Stadium on Friday, April 19 (kick off 7.40pm). All those attending this match are encouraged to use public transport, with heavy congestion forecast due to the Sydney Swans v Geelong Cats match taking place at the SCG (7.50pm) and the Guy Sebastian concert at the Hordern Pavilion (from 7pm). Full information on public transport will be available from the matchday section on

Waratahs team to play the Hurricanes

Saturday April 6, 2013
Westpac Stadium, Wellington

1. Benn Robinson (Eastwood)
2. John Ulugia (Eastern Suburbs)
3. Sekope Kepu (Randwick)
4. Sitaleki Timani (Southern Districts)
5. Kane Douglas (Southern Districts)
6. Dave Dennis (Sydney University, captain)
7. Michael Hooper (Manly)
8. Pat McCutcheon (Sydney University)
9. Brendan McKibbin (Eastern Suburbs)
10. Bernard Foley (Sydney University)
11. Drew Mitchell (Balmain)
12. Rob Horne (Southern Districts)
13. Adam Ashley-Cooper (Northern Suburbs)
14. Peter Betham (Sydney University)
15. Israel Folau (Sydney University)

16. Luke Holmes (Warringah)
17. Paddy Ryan (Sydney University)
18. Mitchell Chapman (Eastern Suburbs)
19. Wycliff Palu (Manly)
20. Matt Lucas (Manly)
21. Ben Volavola (Southern Districts)
22. Tom Kingston (Sydney University)