adidas All Blacks AIG Logo


Force named to play Hurricanes

Getty Images and James Mortimer     20 Apr 2013     Getty Images

Stanley returns to the midfield after scoring a try and setting up a second for Dellit a fortnight ago against the Rebels, while Cottrell returns to the blindside flank where he has started in six of the Force’s eight matches in 2013.

Faulkner has worked his way into the starting tighthead role after several dynamic performances off the bench for the Force. He joins Heath Tessmann and Pek Cowan in the front row, and will replace Salesi Ma’afu (knee).

Dellit also returns to the run-on side on the right wing, joining Ed Stubbs and former Hurricane, Jayden Hayward, in the Western Australian back three. Alfie Mafi, the competition’s equal leading try-scorer, will start from the bench having ranked amongst the highest running metres through the first half of the competition.

Prop Kieran Longbottom returns to the Force line-up via the bench, after missing last weekend’s match following a head knock sustained against the Rebels. Longbottom will provide front row coverage for the Emirates Western Force along with hooker James Hilterbrand, who is in line to make his Super Rugby debut on Friday night.

Western Force Head Coach Michael Foley says it’s important for his side to back up following last weekend’s win over the Crusaders.

“We welcome back Gus, Tetera, Winston and Paddy this week,” he said.

“Last week the players set a new standard in preparation against the Crusaders, which reflected in how we played. We worked extremely hard for each other and it’s important we push for more of the same against another quality New Zealand side.”


1. Pek Cowan
2. Heath Tessmann
3. Tetera Faulkner
4. Toby Lynn
5. Sam Wykes
6. Angus Cottrell
7. Matt Hodgson (c)
8. Richard Brown
9. Alby Mathewson
10. Sam Norton-Knight
11. Ed Stubbs
12. Junior Rasolea
13. Winston Stanley
14. Patrick Dellit
15. Jayden Hayward


16. James Hilterbrand
17. Kieran Longbottom
18. Rory Walton
19. Chris Alcock
20. Mick Snowden
21. Sias Ebersohn
22. Alfie Mafi