NZU20 squad named for IRB World Champs in France     25 Apr 2013    

Head Coach Chris Boyd, and his Assistant Coaches Chris Gibbes and Liam Barry have today selected their squad of 28 following a selection camp and trial in Palmerston North this week.

The squad is:


Front rowers:
Donald Brighouse Wellington
Epalahame Faiva Waikato
Nick Grogan Manawatu
Alexander Hodgman Canterbury
Sione Mafileo North Harbour
Kalafi Pongi Counties Manukau
Boyd Wiggins North Harbour

Scott Barrett Canterbury
Jackson Hemopo Otago
Patrick Tuipulotu Auckland
Christopher Vui Auckland

Loose Forwards:
Adam Burn Waikato
Joseph Edwards Auckland
Jordan Manihera North Harbour
Hadleigh May Otago
Ardie Savea Wellington


Tayler Adams Southland
Sheridan Rangihuna Hawke's Bay

First five-eighths:
Simon Hickey Auckland
Jade Te Rure Manawatu

Midfield backs:
Michael Collins Otago
Jason Emery Manawatu
Fa'asiu Fuatai Otago
Teihorangi Walden Otago

Outside backs:
Penikolo Latu Hawke's Bay
Leroy Van Dam Auckland
Lolagi Visinia Auckland
Joseph Webber Waikato

The squad includes Highlanders centre Jason Emery and Hurricanes loose forward Ardie Savea, Chiefs wider training group fullback Joe Webber and Blues wider training group players, loose forward Joe Edwards and outside back Lolagi Visinia.

The squad includes a total 12 players who played ITM Cup last year. Boyd said the competition for spots in this year’s squad had been fierce with many of the 48 contenders demonstrating they had worked hard on their fitness and technique over the summer.

“I think the squad we have selected has been a good balance of hard workers and natural talent. This is the culmination of a seven-month programme to identify our potential squad, and to develop those players,” Boyd said.

The New Zealand Under 20 squad is assembled in Palmerston North today for continued training until Sunday 28 April. They will reassemble prior to departure to France, in Auckland on Monday 27 May.

An updated media schedule will be issued prior to the May camp.

New Zealand Under 20 IRB JWC pre-departure (May) camp: Bruce Pulman Lodge, Papakura, Auckland.

Monday 27 May: Team assembles

Wednesday 29 May: NZ U20 v Blues Development, Western Springs, kick-off 6:30pm

Departure: Thursday 30 May, 5.30pm, Auckland International Airport, Flight EK435

IRB Junior World Championship schedule:
Pool B: New Zealand, Ireland, Australia, Fiji.
Wednesday 5 June: NZ v Fiji, Vannes
Sunday 9 June: NZ v Australia, Vannes
Thursday 13 June: NZ v Ireland, Vannes
Tuesday 18 June: play off matches including semifinals
Sunday 23 June: Finals