All Blacks Sevens team named for Glasgow and London

Getty Images     26 Apr 2013     Getty Images

A foot injury sustained at the Tokyo tournament has forced captain DJ Forbes to withdraw. Tim Mikkelson will take over as captain.

The team is:
Pita Ahki*
Kurt Baker
Tomasi Cama
Scott Curry
Gillies Kaka
Rocky Khan
Ben Lam
Tim Mikkelson (capt)
Lote Raikabula
Sherwin Stowers
Trinity Spooner-Neera
Belgium Tuatagaloa

* new cap

In addition to DJ Forbes, Toby Arnold, Sam Dickson, Mark Jackman and David Raikuna were also not considered because of injury.

Coach Gordon Tietjens said the injuries had made selection particularly challenging, but he was happy with the mix of young and experienced players in the team.

Returning from injury are IRB Sevens Player of the Year Tomasi Cama who missed Hong Kong and Tokyo, Kurt Baker who has not played since Wellington and Scott Curry who makes his first squad of the season.

20 year old back Pita Ahki is the only new cap. He is a member of the Blues Wider Training Group and played for New Zealand Under 20 at the Junior World Championship in South Africa last year.

“We have played consistently well all season despite a number of injury setbacks so it shows the depth we now have in the wider squad,” said Tietjens.

“It’s really great to have Junior back fighting fit and Scott Curry’s return also strengthens the experience in the team.

“Pita Ahki is an exciting young prospect and he impressed in training this week so deserves the opportunity.

“We are determined to end the season on a high note so we are looking for top performances in Glasgow and London which will hopefully seal the series for us.

“While it’s disappointing not to have DJ on the team, we’re hoping this gives him plenty of time to come right for Moscow for the Rugby World Cup in late June. That’s a key event for us in terms of our build-up for Rio in 2016.

“Tim did a great job stepping up to the captain’s role in Tokyo and certainly deserves the honour of leading the team again.”

Follow the All Blacks Sevens and NZ Women's Sevens on twitter @nz7s