adidas All Blacks AIG Logo


Beale back on the bench to face the Chiefs

Getty Images and James Mortimer     02 May 2013     Getty Images

Beale returns to the Rebels side for the first time since breaking his hand against the NSW Waratahs in Round 3.

The Wallaby playmaker addressed the players and coaching staff yesterday, before taking to the training paddock later that afternoon.

Rebels Head Coach, Damien Hill, said the decision was one that needed consultation, with the players having a considerable impact on the decision.

"Each decision ultimately is made in the best interest of the Club and the team. In this instance, that is what we believe we have done, and that is the most important aspect in this decision for him to return from the bench on Friday night," said Hill.

"He presented to the playing group in a very candid and honest manner. Knowing these players well, I know how much they want the Club to succeed, and have welcomed him back.

"The Club and Australian Rugby have shown trust in the off field program Kurtley has been and will continue to go through. So long as that trust is returned, we will continue to support Kurtley."

Apart from Beale's addition at the expense of Angus Roberts, Hill has named an unchanged team to the side that went down to the Crusaders on Sunday in Christchurch.

"The Chiefs will be the first New Zealand team visiting Melbourne this season. To have the challenge of playing the 2012 Super Rugby Champions in front of our members and home supporter base is a challenge we are looking forward to.

"It was great to see a number of players stand up to the challenge given to them last round, and that has been rewarded with selection this week.

"There are also a number of players who are vying for starting positions at the Club, which is healthy."

Rebels team to play the Chiefs at AAMI Park, Melbourne

1. Nic Henderson
2. Ged Robinson
3. Laurie Weeks
4. Hugh Pyle
5. Cadeyrn Neville
6. Jarrod Saffy
7. Scott Fuglistaller
8. Scott Higginbotham (c)
9. Nick Phipps
10. James O'Connor
11. Cooper Vuna
12. Rory Sidey
13. Mitch Inman
14. Tom English
15. Jason Woodward

16. Shota Horie
17. Paul Alo-Emile
18. Luke Jones
19. Gareth Delve
20. Nic Stirzaker
21. Kurtley Beale
22. Lachlan Mitchell