Mikkelson and McAlister up for Sevens World Player Awards and James Mortimer     01 Jul 2013

Three men and three women from across five nations and four continents remain in contention for the awards.

Nominations are based on stellar performances across the IRB’s suite of Sevens events, which are played throughout the entire season and continue to reach out to new audiences around the world.

In the men's category the final three nominees are: Tim Mikkelson (New Zealand), Dan Norton (England) and Joji Raqamate (Fiji).

In the women's category the final three nominees are: Jennifer Kish (Canada), Kayla McAlister (New Zealand) and Kelly van Harskamp (Netherlands).

Rugby fans have voted in their thousands at and and those results have been taken into account, along with the initial nomination process covering the HSBC Sevens World Series, IRB Women’s Sevens Series and also World Cup form.

The two winners will be announced at a presentation ceremony in Moscow at the conclusion of Rugby World Cup Sevens on Sunday June 30.

IRB Chairman, Bernard Lapasset, said: "Once again we are seeing here in Russia how the Olympic sport of Rugby Sevens, its spectacle and its competitive edge, showcases all that is good about our global game.

"Many congratulations to these six players, who are all wonderful ambassadors for Rugby’s character-building values. I wish them and all of the teams the best of luck for the knock-out stages here in Moscow.”

Sevens Roll of Honour

IRB Sevens Player of the Year
2004 Simon Amor, England
2005 Orene Ai'i, New Zealand
2006 Uale Mai, Samoa
2007 Afeleke Pelenise, New Zealand
2008 DJ Forbes, New Zealand
2009 Ollie Phillips, England
2010 Mikaele Pesamino, Samoa
2011 Cecil Afrika, South Africa
2012 Tomasi Cama, New Zealand

IRB Women's Sevens Player of the Year
While there has been an IRB Women's personality and IRB Women’s Player of the year in the past, the 2013 recipient will be the first winner of the IRB Women's Sevens award.