2013 ITM Cup: Waikato named for Canterbury

Getty Images and James Mortimer     29 Aug 2013     Getty Images

In the forward pack prop Ben Tameifuna and flanker Zak Hohneck come in for their first starts of the ITM Cup season, while Number 8 Adam Burn returns in place of captain Matt Vant Leven who will miss the match with injury. Flanker Jack Lam will also miss the match due to family reasons.

In the backline exciting young first five Wharenui Hawera gets a chance to start. There is also a shuffling of positions and personnel with Save Tokula moving to the wing, Jackson Willison out to centre, Joe Webber to fullback, and Joe Perawiti and Semisi Masirewa coming in to start at second five and right wing respectively.

Veteran outside backs Tim Mikkelson and Trent Renata will start from the bench, while there is also a potential debutant among the reserves with young lock Nick Ross named in a Waikato 22 for the first time.

Waikato head coach Johnny Walters said “obviously it has been a bit of a tough week [after the Ranfurly Shield loss] but we have to pick ourselves up and go again as there is a long season ahead.”

“We are hurting from last Friday but there is a lot of character and spirit in this team and we will move on.”

The Waikato team to play Canterbury at AMI Stadium (Addington) in Christchurch this Thursday (kick off 7.35pm) is:

1. Toby Smith (42)
2. Brayden Mitchell (3)
3. Ben Tameifuna (1)
4. Brian Alainu'uese (4)
5. Sam Kilgour (12)
6. Rory Grice (14)
7. Zak Hohneck (26)
8. Adam Burn (3)
9. Kylem O’Donnell (3)
10. Wharenui Hawera (2)
11. Save Tokula (50)
12. Joe Perawiti (5)
13. Jackson Willison [c] (54)
14. Semisi Masirewa (3)
15. Joe Webber (10)

16. Vance Elliott (14)
17. Paul Alo-Emile (3)
18. Nick Ross (0)
19. Jono Armstrong (11)
20. Mick Snowden (2)
21. Tim Mikkelson (56)
22. Trent Renata (58)