2013 NZ Schools team named     16 Sep 2013    

The New Zealand Schools Barbarians team has also been named.

New Zealand Schools Coach Russell Hilton-Jones said this year's pick of New Zealand's first XV competition was one of the most exciting to be selected through a modified process more closely linked with New Zealand Rugby's talent identification programme.

The New Zealand Schools team is:

Leni Apisai - Wellington College - Front row
Thomas Hill - Nelson College - Front row
Atu Moli - Marlborough Boys College - Front row
Reuben O'Neill - New Plymouth Boys High School - Front row
Liam Smart - St Bede’s College - Front row
Mike Tamoaieta - Sacred Heart College - Front row
Samuel Chongkit - Hamilton Boys High School - Lock
Joshua Goodhue - Mt Albert Grammar School - Lock
Jamie Lane - Sacred Heart College - Lock
Blake Gibson - St Kentigern College - Loose forward
Akira Ioane - Auckland Grammar School - Loose forward
Mitchell Jacobson - Cambridge High School - Loose forward
Mitchell Karpik - Kings College - Loose forward
Dillon Wihongi - St Kentigern College - Loose forward
Harrison Levien - Hamilton Boys High School - Halfback
Harry Peeters - Christ’s College - Halfback
Bryn Gatland - Hamilton Boys High School - First five-eighth
Damian McKenzie - Christ’s College - First five-eighth
George Taina - Tangaroa College - First five-eighth
Johnathan Fa'auli - St Kentigern College - Midfield
TJ Faiane - St Kentigern College - Midfield
Wesley Goosen - Wellington College - Midfield
Nathaniel Apa - Kelston Boys High School - Outside back
Sam McNicol - Napier Boys High School - Outside back
Gavin Stark - Blue Mountain College - Outside back
Isaac Te Tamaki - Hamilton Boys High School - Outside back

"We're very pleased with the calibre of this squad. We know that today is a special day as many of these boys will now realise that the dream to represent their country playing a game they love starts here.

"The strengthened talent identification programme - delivered through coordinated programmes under the five New Zealand Super Rugby franchises - gives us a clearer picture of the young talent coming through. We know that there are future All Blacks in this team.

"This year's talent at the schools level has been very impressive - narrowing down to the last squad has been a difficult task. Those who are close behind have been given a call up to the New Zealand Schools Barbarians team.

"This year's squad has an exciting mix of great speed out back and the forward power is also impressive,” he said.

New Zealand Schools Programme - Sydney

Friday 27 September v Fiji, St Mary's Rugby League Stadium, 7:00pm
Tuesday 1 October, v Australia A, Knox Grammar School, 12:30pm
Saturday 5 October, v Australia, Knox Grammar School, 5:00pm

The New Zealand Schools Barbarians team, which will play against an Auckland Rugby schools selection, is coached by Dave Dillon, with Darren Larsen as his assistant coach.

The New Zealand Schools Barbarians team for 2013 is:

Jermaine Ainsley - Otago Boys High School - Front row
Willie (Junior) Halafuka - Auckland Grammar School - Front row
Keilan Henry - Feilding High School - Front row
Sekope Lopeti - Marlborough Boys College - Front row
Sekonaia Pole - Otago Boys High School - Front row
Harry Fitzsimons - Auckland Grammar School - Lock
Fin Hoeata - Dilworth School - Lock
Jack Sherratt - King's College - Lock
James Blackwell - Wellington College - Loose forward
Josh Dowsing - New Plymouth Boys High School - Loose forward
Tallis Karaitiana - Hamilton Boys High School - Loose forward
Mungo Mason - Tauranga Boys College - Loose forward
Hugh Renton - Lindisfarne College - Loose forward
Liam Howley - Southland Boys High School - Halfback
Lisati Milo-Harris - St Peter's College - Halfback
Daniel Hollinshead - Tauranga Boys College - First five-eighth
Josh Ioane - Kings College - First five-eighth
Fin Hart-Strawbridge - Nelson College - Midfield
Patelesio Tomkinson - Otago Boys High School - Midfield
Malo Tuitama - Scots College - Midfield
Solomon Alaimalo - St Bede's College - Outside back
Fletcher Matthews - Waimea College - Outside back
Fereti Soloa - Naenae College - Outside back
Jordan Trainor - St Peter's College - Outside back