Two changes for Springboks

Getty Images     03 Oct 2013     Getty Images

Bismarck du Plessis returns at hooker after Adriaan Strauss started against Australia while Juandre Kruger replaces suspended lock Flip van der Merwe.

Uncapped Franco van der Merwe has been selected on the bench.

A feature of the side is that Tendai 'Beast' Mtawarira will play his 50th Test at prop for South Africa. Only four Springboks have achieved that feat, Os du Randt, CJ van der Linde, Ollie le Roux and Jannie du Plessis.

Coach Heyneke Meyer acknowledge Mtawarira's feat.

"What a wonderful achievement for Beast. He is someone who doesn't speak a lot, but you know he always gives everything he has for the Springbok jersey. It's always good to see hard work and dedication pay off like this."

Meyer has bracketed JJ Engelbrecht at centre with Jan Serfontein.

"We will give JJ all the time he needs to fully recover from his quad muscle injury, but if he can't make it, Jan will start with Juan [de Jongh] on the bench.
"Juandre will slot in without any difficulty as he's been part of the squad since day one and I'm very pleased for Franco, who has been training with us for more than a year already.

"Franco's attitude since day one has been fantastic. He's waited patiently and always stayed positive, which is what we as a team stand for.

"On Saturday, he could make his debut against New Zealand in front of his home crowd at Ellis Park," Meyer said.

South Africa's team is: 1.Tendai Mtawarira, 2.Bismarck du Plessis, 3.Jannie du Plessis, 4.Eben Etzebeth, 5.Juandre Kruger, 6.Francois Louw, 7.Willem Alberts, 8.Duane Vermeulen, 9.Fourie du Preez, 10.Morne Steyn, 11.Bryan Habana, 12..Jean de Villiers (c), 13.JJ Engelbrecht/Jan Serfontein, 14. Willie le Roux, 15. Zane Kirchner.

Reserves: 16.Adriaan Strauss, 17.Gurthro Steenkamp, 18. Coenie Oosthuizen, 19.Franco van der Merwe, 20.Siya Kolisi, 21.Ruan Pienaar, 22.Pat Lambie.