Heartland XV named for first match against NZ Defence force and James Mortimer     05 Nov 2013    

Team to play NZ Defence Force:

1 Ralph Darling (North Otago)
2 Nathan Tubb (South Canterbury)
3 Matt Fetu (South Canterbury)
4 Lachie McFadzean (Wairarapa Bush)
5 Nick Cranston (Wanganui)
6 Riki Waitoa (East Coast)
7 Peter Rowe, captain (Wanganui)
8 Jon Dampney (Mid Canterbury)
9 William McKenzie (Mid Canterbury)
10 Tim Priest (West Coast)
11 Whaimotu Craft-Chemis (East Coast)
12 Fa’aitu Tuamoheloa (South Canterbury)
13 Tau Moeke (East Coast)
14 Dwayne Burrows (Mid Canterbury)
15 Michael Tambour (Horowhenua-Kapiti)


16 Troy Tauwhare (West Coast)
17 Shaun McDonough (Wanganui)
18 Lasa Ulukuta (Wanganui)
19 Alan Monk (West Coast)
20 Andrew Stephens (Buller)
21 Glen Walters (Wairarapa Bush)
22 Lemi Masoe (North Otago)

McQuilkin said that the squad’s preparation for their two-match programme had gone well since the squad assembled on Friday.

“The boys are fired up and ready to get stuck in. It’s been a pretty intense Heartland Championship this year, so this opportunity to play for the Heartland XV is a great way for the boys to step up and represent their unions in this national team.”

Kick-off for tomorrow afternoon’s match is at 2:30pm.

New Zealand Heartland XV 2013 programme

Tuesday 5 November
NZ Heartland XV v NZ Defence Force, Methven Domain, Methven, kick-off 2.30pm
Saturday 9 November
NZ Heartland XV v NZ Marist, Alpine Energy Stadium, Timaru, kick-off 2.30pm