Waikato name Sevens squads for Rotorua National7s

Photosport and James mortimer     09 Jan 2014     Photosport

Men's coach Roger Randle has named an experienced 12-man squad which features four current or former national sevens representatives in the form of Joe Webber, Rory Grice, Kylem O'Donnell and Jono Malo.

Declan O'Donnell, another former New Zealand representative, was set to make his comeback after missing all of 2013 because of shoulder surgery but failed a late fitness test.

His brother Kylem is one of four players who return from last year's Waikato sevens squad - the other three being Malo, Semisi Masirewa and Kane Adams.

Waikato have not quite hit their stride in the build up tournaments and they will need to find their form early this weekend, having been drawn in a tough pool with Manawatu, Otago and central region champions Hawke's Bay.

The Waikato women's team has a settled look about it with eight players returning from 2013 squad that made it to the final before losing to Manawatu.

Women's coach Reuben Samuel can call on three national sevens representatives and eight girls with Waikato WPC experience.

The build up for the women's team has been solid - making the final of the Northern Regions Qualifying Tournament and losing at the semi final stage of the Bay of Plenty Invitational Tournament.

Waikato will face Otago, Wellington, Southland and Auckland in Pool B on Day 1.

All the action from Rotorua will be screened live on Sky Sport 4 on Saturday (12pm-8pm) and Sunday (12pm-9pm).

Waikato Men's Sevens Team

Jacob Ale
Rory Grice
Rupeni Tamanikaiyaroi
Brodi McCurran
Regan Ware
Kylem O'Donnell
Kane Adams
Dylan Collier
Jono Malo
Joe Webber
Semisi Masirewa
Chad Bracey

Waikato Women's Sevens Team

Teresa Te Tamaki (c)
Jordon Webber
Carla Hohepa
Francea Hansen
Terina Te Tamaki
Honey Hireme
Tenika Willison
Racqual Anderson-Pitman
Lily Pompey
Chelsea Alley
Awatea Whitiora
Chyna Hohepa