Menu allblacks.com

News

McCalman cited for tackle on Kane Hames

Getty Images

    16 Mar 2014     Getty Images

McCalman is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (j) Lifting Tackle when he tackled Highlanders' prop Kane Hames during the match between the Highlanders and Force at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin on Saturday 15 March 2014.

The referee for the match, Glen Jackson, issued a yellow card for the tackle which occurred in the 73rd minute.

Upon further review of the match footage the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The Citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Nicholas Davidson QC.

All SANZAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.

Player: Ben McCalman
Team: Force
Position: Number 8
Date of Incident: 15 March 2014
Nature of Offence: Law 10.4 (j) Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that player into the ground whilst that player's feet are still off the ground such that the player's head and/or upper body come into contact with the ground is dangerous play.
Elapsed time in match when incident occurred: 73rd minute