Eye on WRWC2014: USA Women's Eagles name squad for Canada

Getty Images     11 Apr 2014     Getty Images

Steinberg’s charges will face their North American rivals on 15 April at Shawnigan Lake School and then four days later at Westhills Stadium in Langford as part of a 10-day tour to Canada.

“These aren’t final selections for the World Cup,” explained Steinberg. “These selections are for us to try different combinations and see what we are capable of in regard to our patterns of play

“This is just a chance for us to see new players compete in an international environment. Players may play a lot differently than what we have seen in camps and some players might play differently with being away from home for an extended period of time.

“There are a lot of factors that play into how players perform and these are the things that we are looking for and trying to sort out before we head to France in August.”

The squad brings together a blend of youth and experience with Shaina Turley, just back from the China Sevens in Guangzhou, named as captain. Four players are in line to make their Women’s Eagles debut in Libby Berg, Amanda Kingzett, Tess Kohanski and Jacie Vonada.

Canada and USA last met during the Women’s Nations Cup in August with the Women’s Eagles running out 29-17 victors on home soil and the squad for the Can-Am Series includes a number of players from that match.

The Women’s Eagles will face world champions New Zealand, Kazakhstan and Ireland at Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 in France, with the latter their first opponents on 1 August at Marcoussis.

Women’s Eagles squad for Can-Am Series with Canada

Sadie Anderson (Penn State WRFC), Katy Augustyn (Berkeley All Blues WRC), Libby Berg (Minnesota Valkryies), Meya Bizer (Penn State WRFC), Sharon Blaney (Oregon Sports Union RC), Phoebe Boone (Berkeley All Blues WRC), Stacy Bridges (Twin Cities Amazons WRC), Jamie Burke (Glendale Raptors RFC), Emilie Bydwell (San Diego Surfers WRC), Erica Cavanaugh (Northern Virginia WRFC), Sarah Chobot (Glendale Raptors WRC), Kate Daley (North Shore Chicago WRC), Amanda Kingzett (Twin Cities Amazons WRC), Molly Kinsella (Toronto Saracens RFC), Tess Kohanski (Beantown RFC), Lynelle Kugleri (Twin Cities Amazons WRC), Jennifer Lui (North Shore Chicago WRC), Erin Overcash (Glendale Raptors RFC), Samantha Pankey (James River RFC), Naima Reddick, Kimber Rozier, Amanda Street (Washington WRFC), Shaina Turley (Women's Eagles Sevens-WCAP/San Diego Surfers WRC), Jacie Vonada, Carrie White (Seattle RFC), Sarah Wilson (Glendale Raptors RFC), Kristen Zdanczewicz, (Minnesota Valkyries RC).