Highlanders South Africa squad named with no Thorn

Getty Images     14 Apr 2014     Getty Images

Thorn was forced from the field just after halftime with a ruptured right distal bicep and is scheduled to undergo surgery in the next few days.

Due to the nature of the injury and the expected recovery period, it is unlikely Thorn will return to the field for the Highlanders in the 2014 Investec Super Rugby season.

Meanwhile the Highlanders, who will take a bye this weekend, have named their South African touring squad.

They will play the Sharks and Stormers in Round 11 and 12 respectively.

Travel party for SA: Josh Bekhuis, Richard Buckman, Phil Burleigh, Shane Christie, Liam Coltman, Elliot Dixon, Jason Emery, Gareth Evans, Malakai Fekitoa, Ma’afu Fia, Kane Hames, John Hardie, Jarrad Hoeata, Chris King, Nasi Manu, Craig Millar, Brayden Mitchell, Patrick Osborne, Hayden Parker, Trent Renata, Ged Robinson, Ben Smith, Aaron Smith, Lima Sopoaga, Fumiaki Tanaka, Shaun Treeby and Joe Wheeler.