Want some Under 20s rugby history?

Getty Images

James Mortimer     29 Apr 2014     Getty Images

The New Zealand Under 20s team for the 2014 edition of the IRB Junior World Championship has already been named.

1955 - New Zealand Under 21 (formerly known as the Colts) selected for the first time in 1955, despite the selection, there were not consistent selection of such age-grade teams year to year.

1978 - New Zealand Rugby begins annual selections of age-grade teams, in the guise of Under 19 and U21. These sides were not always direct representatives of New Zealand Rugby internationally, sometimes the matches were played against opposition provincial teams.

1999 - NZ wins their first major age-grade tournament.

2002 - The NZU21s, despite the presence of Dan Carter, suffers a defeat to Jake White's SAU21 outfit in the semi-finals - the South Africans would eventually beat Australia 24-21 in the final.

2003 - The NZU21 team, featuring Jimmy Cowan, Ben Atiga and Adam Thomson - beat Australia 21-10 to win the title.

2004 - The NZU21 selection defend title, beating Ireland 47-19 in the final. Luke McAlister was captain of the team.

2005 - In front of a packed Durban South Africa beats NZU19 20-15 to win the championship.

2005 - New Zealand fails to defend their U21 title and settles for third place, losing 46-43 to Australia during the pool stages and SA 16-12 in the semi-finals.

2006 - The final edition of the Under 21 tournament sees NZ again take the bronze, losing 40-23 to South Africa in the semi-finals.

2006 - Australia wins their first premier age grade title, beating the NZU19 17-13 in a historic final in Dubai.

2007 - The final edition of the Under 19 championship sees a powerful NZ team, featuring Israel Dagg, Ryan Crotty and Sam Whitelock, defeat South Africa 31-7 to take the trophy.

2007 - The IRB announces the U19 and U21 divisions will be merged into the current U20s. Wales is announced as the inaugural hosts.

2007 - The IRB also reveals a second tier comp - the Junior World Rugby Trophy - to be played as well, with the winners promoted to the next season's JWC.

2008 - New Zealand is imperious in the maiden U20 championship, beating England 38-3 in the final, the winners scored 34 tries in the tournament. Kade Poki and Andre Taylor were among the stars.

2008 - Uruguay wins the first JWRT, beating Chile 20-8 in the decider.

2009 - NZ goes back-to-back, winning in Tokyo (their first international rugby tournament), beating England 44-28, Zac Guildford and Aaron Cruden were among the team's most influential players.

2010 - NZ ensures there are three engraving on the Cup in a row with the biggest winning margin in an international age-grade decider, beating Australia 62-17. Julian Savea was named player of the tournament and IRB Junior Player of the Year.

2011 - Again the boys in black are successful, beating England 33-22 in the final thanks to a powerful forward pack with the likes of Steven Luatua, Sam Cane, Dominic Bird and Brodie Retallick.

2012 - Wales make history by becoming the first team in 21 matches to defeat NZ, winning 9-6, despite making over three times more tackles.

2012 - In front of over 30,000 fans in Newlands, South Africa's mammoth pack defeats NZ 22-16. Jan Serfontein wins player of the tournament.

2012 - IRB announces NZ will host JWC2014.

2013 - New Zealand has to settle for it's worst ever age grade tournament result, finishing fourth after being beaten 33-21 by England (in the semis) and 41-34 by South Africa (in the bronze playoff).

2013 - New Zealand Rugby announces a new national U19 tournament to be held in Taupo.

2014 - The IRB Junior World Championship takes place in New Zealand!