Chiefs change over half of their starting team

Getty Images     30 May 2014     Getty Images

For the first time this year, the Chiefs match will feature a curtain raiser, which will be the annual, highly entertaining First XV match between Francis Douglas Memorial College and New Plymouth Boys High School. Kick off for the curtain raiser is 2.15pm.

The school theme continues in Chiefs Country with the final of the Chiefs Cup Secondary School competition the curtain raiser for the Black Ferns v Australia match at Rotorua International Stadium on 1 June.

The secondary school match between Rotorua Boys High School and Tauranga Boys College kicks off at 3.40pm and will be televised live on SKY TV on the Rugby Channel. Taranaki are expected to join this competition next year.

After a disappointing show against the Hurricanes last weekend, Chiefs coach Dave Rennie said “With only two points separating the top four teams in the New Zealand Conference, every game is vital and this stems as season defining.”

Taranaki turned on great support for the Chiefs in their last encounter at Yarrow Stadium which saw them beat the Blues and Rennie and his men are looking forward to another game there.

“Again, we bring a high quality opponent to New Plymouth. The Waratahs have been impressive and lead the Australian Conference.

“They have a huge pack and a backline full of game breakers. Both teams play a positive brand of footy so it should be a hell of a contest,” said Rennie.

The changes to the Chiefs team, begins in the forwards with Jamie Mackintosh starting at prop and Matt Symons at lock. Liam Messam reclaims his No 6 jersey, while Liam Squire starts at No 8.

Aaron Cruden starts the match at first five-eighth, Andrew Horrell comes in at second five-eighth and Tim Nanai-Williams moves to centre.

Pauliasi Manu, Mike Fitzgerald, Tanerau Latimer, Gareth Anscombe and Bundee Aki all move to the reserves.

At the Chiefs home game one lucky Chiefs fan could win a Generation Home worth $350,000 which will be up for grabs for those who attend the Chiefs match and have pre-registered in the ‘Score a House’ promotion. If the Chiefs’ player wearing the number 14 jersey scores a try in the 14th minute of the game some lucky Chiefs fan who has entered the competition will win a Generation Homes house.

To be part of the ‘Score a House’ competition all Chiefs supporters have to do is go online at to register and the winner must be at the stadium for the game to win and be contactable. A full list of terms and conditions are available on the Generation Homes website. The competition applies for 2014 round robin home games held at Waikato Stadium and Yarrow Stadium in New Plymouth.

The Chiefs matches will have live entertainment from the Chiefs Maori Toa Group, and for family enjoyment there will be the alcohol free Family Zone with a bouncy castle and free goodie packs for all children with tickets to the Family Zone.

Tickets to the Chiefs matches at Yarrow Stadium are on sale via or by phoning 0800 4 CHIEFS and from the following Ticket Direct outlets: TSB Showplace in New Plymouth, Stratford I-site and Hawera I-site or from Gate 1 at Yarrow Stadium from 10-5pm on Friday 30 May and 9am on match day.

Ticket prices start from $20 for adults, $9 for children 14 years and under, and children aged 1-4 years are FREE on the knee. Gates open at 2.00pm.

Jamie Mackintosh
Nathan Harris
Ben Tameifuna
Matt Symons
Brodie Retallick
Liam Messam
Sam Cane
Liam Squire
Tawera Kerr-Barlow
Aaron Cruden ©
Asaeli Tikoirotuma
Andrew Horrell
Tim Nanai-Williams
Dwayne Sweeney
Tom Marshall

Mahonri Schwalger
Pauliasi Manu
Josh Hohneck
Michael Fitzgerald
Tanerau Latimer
Brad Weber
Gareth Anscombe
Bundee Aki