Hurricanes named to play Manawatu and Hawke's Bay

Getty Images     17 Jun 2014     Getty Images

The two Manawatu men are part of a strong Hurricanes line-up named to participate in a high performance event run by the Manawatu Rugby Union at FMG Stadium. The evening will consist of four, 40-minute matches between Wellington, Manawatu, Hawke’s Bay and the Hurricanes.

The schedule kicks off at 6pm with Wellington taking on the Manawatu Turbos, while the Hurricanes’ first performance will be at 7.40pm against Hawke’s Bay.

Hurricanes chief executive James Te Puni said the club was excited to be able to give its Palmerston North supporters a fun and affordable evening of rugby.

“We know they’ll come out in full support to see both the Hurricanes and their provincial team play.

“It will also be great for our Manawatu guys, Callum Gibbins – who has just signed a full contract with us – and Chris Eves, to wear the Canes jersey in front of their home province.”

The event will be free for those 15 and under, while a $5 entry fee will apply to adults.

The Hurricanes team for Palmerston North is;

1. Reggie Goodes
2. Motu Matu’u
3. Chris Eves
4. Jeremy Thrush
5. Blade Thomson
6. Ardie Savea
7. Callum Gibbins
8. Brad Shields
9. Chris Smylie
10. James Marshall
11. Cardiff Vaega
12. Hadleigh Parkes
13. Tim Bateman
14. Matt Proctor
15. Marty Banks


16. Brendon Edmonds
17. Mike Kainga
18. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen
19. James Broadhurst
20. Mark Abbott
21. Adam Hill
22. Billy Guyton
23. Tamati Samuels