Seven changes for England ahead of final All Blacks Test

Getty Images     19 Jun 2014     Getty Images

The 24 year-old three-Test No.12 is reunited with Manu Tuilagi in the centres after impressing as a combination in the 20-15 first Test defeat in Auckland. Tuilagi moves in from the right wing to accommodate Chris Ashton, who makes his first England start since the match against New Zealand in November 2013.

Scrum half Ben Youngs and fly half Freddie Burns replace the injured pair Danny Care (shoulder) and Owen Farrell (knee) at half back, with Billy Twelvetrees dropping out of the match day squad and Luther Burrell on the bench.

Lee Dickson and Danny Cipriani, after assured displays in the 38-7 win over the Crusaders on Tuesday are the half back replacements available.

There are three changes in the pack with hooker Hartley, lock Courtney Lawes and No.8 Billy Vunipola, who all came off the bench in the second half of the 28-27 second Test defeat in Dunedin last Saturday. The trio take over from Rob Webber, Joe Launchbury and Ben Morgan respectively, who are on the bench.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We want to finish the tour and the season on a high and we have a fantastic opportunity on Saturday. Our aim was to win a Test series and we are disappointed that we haven’t.

“We have progressed as a squad during this tour and whilst there has been challenges with the end of season scheduling affecting selection it has been a great opportunity to work with a wider group of players and test many of them at the highest level in the build up to the World Cup. I am confident the players selected for Saturday will go all out to achieve the win.”

England team to face New Zealand
Third Test, Steinlager Series, Waikato Stadium, Saturday, June 21, 7.35pm NZST/8.35am BST

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 28 caps)
14 Chris Ashton (Saracens, 38 caps)
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 24 caps)
12 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby, 3 caps)
11 Marland Yarde (London Irish, 4 caps)
10 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby, 4 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 37 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 21 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 56 caps)
3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 36 caps)
4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 31 caps)
5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 21 caps)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 29 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain, 27 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 9 caps)


16 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 7 caps)
17 Matt Mullan (London Wasps, 4 caps)
18 Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons, 1 cap)
19 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 21 caps)
20 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 22 caps)
21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 17 caps)
22 Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks, 8 caps)
23 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)