New Zealand team named for #JWC2014 playoff against Ireland

IRB     20 Jun 2014     IRB

The New Zealand v Ireland match is the precursor to the main event, with South Africa taking on reigning champions England.

The New Zealand team is:

1 Atunaisa Moli
2 Epalahame Faiva
3 Tau Koloamatangi
4 James Tucker
5 Geoffrey Cridge
6 Tom Sanders
7 Lachlan Boshier
8 Mathew Peni
9 Mitchell Drummond
10 Richie Mo’unga
11 Tevita Li
12 TJ Faiane
13 Anton Lienert-Brown, captain
14 Vincent Tavae–Aso
15 Damian McKenzie

16 James O’Reilly
17 Scott Mellow
18 Kyle Harris
19 Tim Cadwallader
20 Troy Callander
21 Josh Renton
22 Kaveinga Finau
23 David Havili

New Zealand Under 20 Head Coach Chris Boyd has retained the majority of the run-on side that played out a gutsy semifinal against South Africa at QBE Stadium, North Harbour last Sunday. South Africa won the match 32-25 after a try in the 78th minute to break a 25-all deadlock.

Tom Sanders now starts in the No 6 jersey and Mathew Peni packs down at the back of the scrum.

Boyd said that while the semifinal loss to South Africa had been hard to take, he was proud of the effort the boys had put into that match.

“Our focus this week has been on reviewing that game and there were some good lessons in that for us. We’ve had a good break and the task has been to get up for the match against Ireland. We want to play well against them and to finish our campaign on a high note,” he said.

The playoff for third place ranking in the tournament follows an eventful week for the young New Zealand team.

Prolific try scorer Tevita Li who is listed among this year’s top 10 try scorers was named one of four nominees for the IRB Junior Player of the Year award.