Irish Women name squad for #WRWC2014

Getty Images     08 Jul 2014     Getty Images

The 26-strong panel, led by Fiona Coghlan, contains just one new cap with Sharon Lynch named in the forwards.

Scrum half Amy Davis, a regular in the squad during the Six Nations, has been ruled out through injury which means a recall for the experienced Tania Rosser who played at the WRWC 2010 in England.

Commenting on the selection, Doyle said: "We have just come off the back of three weekends of intensive training and unfortunately we had to cut the squad to just 26 players which has been difficult. Everybody applied themselves brilliantly and I would like to congratulate all for their involvement.

"Women's rugby is at an all-time high in Ireland and with that comes great expectation. We are well placed for the tournament and are all looking forward to heading to France and getting started."

Ireland open their campaign on Friday, 1 August with a tough encounter against the USA whom they played twice at the 2010 tournament in England.

USA are set to name their squad once they have played England in Guildford on Sunday in the final match of their pre-Women’s Rugby World Cup tour of Europe. Asian champions Kazakhstan have yet to reveal their hand.

Ireland: Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster), Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile), Hannah Casey (Saracens/Exiles), Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster), Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster), Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht), Larissa Muldoon (Bristol/Ulster), Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster) Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile), Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster), Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster) (capt), Kerrie-Ann Craddock (Saracens/Exiles), Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster), Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster) Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster), Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere/Leinster) Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht) ,Heather O'Brien (Highfield/Munster), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster) Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)