Taranaki men, Manawatu women claim Central Sevens titles

Getty Images

    07 Dec 2014     Getty Images

One week ago the 19-year-old was a member of Rotorua Boys' High School's Condor Sevens winning side, and he scored three tries in the 38-33 extra time win over Manawatu.

It was his third try that sealed the game after the sides were locked at 33-33 at full-time.

Lewis Ormond and David Philander also scored while Beaudein Waaka kicked four conversions, and Rick McKenna the final conversion to tie the scores.

Manawatu also had some firepower in their side with wing Maleli Sau scvoring three times and George Tilsley also scoring twice.

The women's final also went to extra time as Manawatu beat Wellington 27-22. 

Amanda Rasch scored twice in the first half for Wellington as they got out to a 15-7 lead at half-time with a third try scored by Timena Tumaai. Ebony Low kept Manawatu in the hunt with key playmaker Selica Winiata kicking the conversion.

After halftime it was Manawatu who applied the pressure with Winiata scored and then Kendall Templeman capitalising on a fine breakout. However, Wellington responded after some fine play by Amy Sutorious which saw Kat Simpkins scored to regain the lead. Christine Duffill scored the equaliser and in extra time Hayley Hutana showed a clean pair of heels after Manawatu secured the ball from the kick-off to run away for the match winner.

Taranaki shut Wairarapa Bush out of their semi-final when romping to a 45-0 win, with Vaeno, scoring a hat-trick.

Horowhenua Kapiti spoiled Hawke's Bay's day when winning 15-12 in their play-off to decide fifth which meant Horowhenua Kapiti qualified for the National Sevens.

Results were:

Men's: Wairarapa Bush 15 Manawatu 7, Taranaki 32 Wanganui 0; Wellington 54 East Coast 0, Hawke's Bay 21 Wairarapa Bush 17, Poverty Bay 26 Wanganui 26, Horowhenua Kapiti 30 East Coast 7, Manawatu 38 Hawke's Bay 7, Taranaki 28 Bay of Plenty 12, Taranaki 24 Hawke's Bay 5, Manawatu 59 East Coast 0, Wanganui 28 Horowhenua Kapiti 28, Wairarapa Bush 24 Poverty Bay 19, Hawke's Bay 38 Wanganui .

Semi-finals: Manawatu 19 Wellington 14, Taranaki 45 Wairarapa Bush 0.

Final: Taranaki 38 Manawatu 33

Women's: Manawatu 55 Wairarapa Bush 0, Wellington 24 Taranaki 17, Manawatu 29 Taranaki 0, Taranaki 54 Wairarapa Bush 0, Wellington 17 Manawatu 14.

Final: Manawatu 27 Wellington 22