Counties Manukau, Waikato claim Northern Sevens titles

Getty Images

    08 Dec 2014     Getty Images

Jonathan Taumateine, Jason Guthrie and Buakula Peni crossed for tries for Counties Manukau while Guthrie added the conversion. In reply Leigh Bristowe crossed twice and Isaac Te Tamaki scored tries but a lack of goal-kicking meant none of the tries were converted.

The loss prevented Waikato from claiming the double after Waikato claimed the women's title with an impressive 26-17 win over Auckland in their final. Justine Lavea scored just after the kick-off to give Auckland the perfect start but then Waikato ran in 26 unanswered points to take control of the game.

Leading 12-5 at half-time, as a result of tries to Kennedy Simon and Lily Pompey, Waikato went further ahead early in the second half with Simon scoring again and Stacey Waaka showing impressive speed to break open the Auckland defences.

However, Auckland were not done and came back through tries to Tapu Davey and Tiana Ngawati but it was too little, too late and Waikato claimed the Northern Women's title.

The seedings for the national sevens (with the Southern round next weekend) are:

Men's rankings: Taranaki, Counties Manukau, Manawatu, Waikato, Wairarapa, Wellington, Auckland, Southern 1 and 2, Northland, Bay of Plenty, Southern 3, North Harbour, Southern 4 and 5, Horowhenua Kapiti.

Women's rankings: Manawatu, Waikato, Auckland, Bay of Plenty, Wellington, Southern 1, Counties Manukau, Taranaki, Southern 2 and 3.

Men's Results:Counties Manukau 21 North Harbour 15, Waikato 14 Bay of Plenty 10, Northland 45 Thames Valley 0, Auckland 21 Counties Manukau 7, Northland 29 Waikato 7, Bay of Plenty 34 Thames Valley 5, Auckland 28 North Harbour 12, Northland 20 Bay of Plenty 5, Waikato 24 Thames Valley 5, North Harbour 45 Thames Valley 12.

Fifth and Sixth playoff: Bay of Plenty 19 North Harbour 14.

Semi-finals: Waikato 26 Auckland 12, Counties Manukau 24 Northland 12.

Third and Fourth playoff: Auckland 26 Northland 7

Final: Counties Manukau 17 Waikato 15

Women's results:

Counties Manukau 17 Bay of Plenty 5, Counties Manukau 26 North Harbour 10, Waikato 27 Bay of Plenty 5, Counties Manukau 26 North Harbour 10, Auckland 21 Bay of Plenty 0, Waikato 24 Auckland 5, Bay of Plenty 22 North Harbour 14, Auckland 19 Counties Manukau 14, Waikato 29 North Harbour 7.

Third and fourth playoff: Bay of Plenty 12 Counties Manukau 10.

Final: Waikato 26 Auckland 17.