New Zealand Barbarians team named to play Maori All Blacks     16 Jul 2015

The Barbarians were once a regular feature in first-class fixtures at Eden Park, but their last big match was in 1985, losing 31-10 to Auckland.

The Maori All Blacks have not played on Eden Park since a 22-9 loss to the great Auckland side of 1990. A 1981 Maori Invitation XV did draw 20-all with the Barbarians at Eden Park.

The team is:

1 Mitchell Graham (Taranaki)
2 Liam Coltman (Otago)
3 Ofa Tu’ungafasi (Auckland)
4 Alex Ainley (Tasman)
5 Dominic Bird (Canterbury)
6 Brad Shields (C) (Wellington)
7 Blake Gibson (Auckland)
8 Luke Whitelock (Canterbury)
9 Mitchell Drummond (Canterbury)
10 Tom Taylor (VC) (Canterbury)
11 Patrick Osborne (Canterbury)
12 George Moala (Auckland)
13 Seta Tamanivalu (Taranaki)
14 Cory Jane (Wellington)
15 Andrew Horrell (Hawke's Bay)

16 James Parsons (North Harbour)
17 Reg Goodes (Wellington)
18 Ben Tameifuna (Waikato)
19 Mark Reddish (Wellington)
20 Jordan Taufua (Counties)
21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (Taranaki)
22 Ihaia West (Hawke's Bay)
23 Richard Buckman (Hawke's Bay)

Kick off is at 7.35pm, Saturday 18 July. Tickets available here.

In 2014 the Barbarians played non-first class matches against the Blues and the Highlanders. It is part of the club’s strategic plan to seek more meaningful, high profile games to augment their long-time goal of fostering grassroots and, in particular, schoolboy rugby. They sponsor the annual Top 4 national schools tournament and the New Zealand Area Schools side, along with the NZ Barbarians Schools side, as part of the NZ Schools programme.

Established in 1937, the Barbarians’ club membership is by invitation only. Current All Blacks who are Barbarians include Richie McCaw, Keven Mealamu and Kieran Read.