Replacement players called up for Cape Town Sevens

Getty Images     07 Dec 2015     Getty Images

Five players are returning home after sustaining injuries in that tournament. They are Scott Curry (dislocated shoulder), Gillies Kaka (ankle), Tim Mikkelson (concussion), Sherwin Stowers (broken arm) and Regan Ware (ankle).

They have been replaced by All Blacks Sevens squad members Antonio Kirikiri (Manawatu) and Beaudein Waka (Taranaki). Waaka has recovered from a knee injury sustained in Dubai last week after passing a fitness test yesterday. They are also joined by Ambrose Curtis (Manawatu) who played for the team last season.

The players fly to Cape Town this afternoon.

Cape Town Sevens schedule 

After finishing fourth in Dubai, New Zealand will face Samoa, France and Dubai in pool play on Saturday. Cape Town is 11 hours behind New Zealand.

Day One Saturday 12 December - Pool Play
11:43am (10:43pm NZT) v France
3:04pm (2:04am NZT) v Canada
7:12pm (6:12am NZT) v Samoa

Day Two Sunday, 13 December - Finals

All matches will screen live on SKY Sport's Rugby Channel.