Hawke's Bay men and Manawatu women on top in Central Sevens

Getty Images

Lynn McConnell     12 Dec 2015     Getty Images

Teams to qualify for next month's national finals were:


Hawke's Bay, Manawatu, Wellington, Wanganui, Taranaki.


Manawatu, Wellington, Wairarapa Bush

Hawke's Bay made a flying start to the men's final with Penikolo Latu showing his speed to open the scoring while moments later it was Jonathan Ruru on the opposite flank who took the side to a 12-0 lead.

Two breakdown penalties conceded by Hawke's Bay saw Manawatu look to push their opportunities and as they deeper into opposition territory and it was Jordan Bunce who used his speed to score the first for his side.

However, Manawatu's hope of getting closer were upset when the ball was turned over at the breakdown and Bay captain Billy Ropiha took the ball and charged ahead to score between the posts.

Up 19-5 at the break, Hawke's Bay went further ahead after Neria Fomai tied up the defence to power his way over for a 26-5 lead.

Manawatu did score through Willie Paia'ua and Devon Scott but it was all too later.

In the play-off for third and fourth Wellington beat Wanganui 46-7.

Manawatu came from behind to beat Wellington 24-17 with a post-fulltime try in the women's final.

Speedy Wellington back Ayesha Leti'liga gave her side the lead after a superb sideline sprint from 80m out. She scored a second before half-time, but Manawatu had remained in touch with Janna Vaughan scoring.

In spite of some strong work at the breakdown by Amanda Rasch, Wellington were unable to break the Manawatu spirit and Vaughan crossed from a set move on the goal-line just after the half-time break to get within two points.

Rebekah Tufuga scored soon after for Manawatu to claim a 17-12 lead, but Wellington's Caroline Sio struck back to level the scores. Wellington tried hard to get across the line for the winner but Manawatu held them out and then took play back downfield and it was Vaughan who scored her hat-trick try to seal the win.

Wairarapa Bush's women's team provided an upset to qualify for the national finals ahead of Taranaki when claiming an emphatic 31-7 win.

Rhiarna Ferris set the win in motion with a strong run to score and she was followed by Julie Ferguson-Ngawaka with both tries being converted by Paige Walker.

Taranaki scored just before the break when Kate Batchelor chipped ahead in her own 22m, followed up to get the bounce and then raced 65m to score.

But when a penalty was awarded to Wairarapa Bush on Taranaki's 22m line Ferguson-Ngawaka took the tap kick and broke through to score the game-breaking try. But that was enhanced when Walker gained ball at a breakdown 30m out to race in for a converted try.

Results were:


Pool A: Wellington 21, Wairarapa Bush 0, Wanganui 20 Horowhenua Kapiti 19, Wanganui 19 Wairarapa Bush 17, Wellington 26 Horowhenua Kapiti 14, Wellington 26 Wanganui 17, Wairarapa Bush 29 Horowhenua Kapiti 0, Wellington 21 Wairarapa Bush 0, Wanganui 20 Horowhenua Kapiti 19.

Pool B: Taranaki 42 Poverty Bay 0, Hawke's Bay 29 Manawatu 10, Hawke's Bay 29 Taranaki 7, Manawatu 41 Poverty Bay 5, Hawke's Bay 35 Poverty Bay 5, Manawatu 17 Taranaki 12.


Manawatu 50 Taranaki 0, Poverty Bay 12 Wairarapa Bush 10, Manawatu 47 Poverty Bay 0, Wellington 54 Wairarapa Bush 0, Manawatu 45 Wairarapa Bush 5, Wellington 29 Taranaki 0, Taranaki 29 Poverty Bay 19, Manawatu 14 Wellington 12.

Hawke's Bay 26 Manawatu 17

Third and fourth:

Wellington 46 Wanganui 7


Manawatu 24 Wellington 17

Third and fourth:

Wairarapa Bush 31 Taranaki 7