Jock Hobbs Memorial tournament set for September

NZR     18 May 2016     NZR

Since launching in 2014, the tournament has quickly become a launching pad for New Zealand’s most promising young rugby players and an integral part of the rugby calendar. After successfully hosting the tournament in 2014 and 2015, Taupo’s Owen Delany Park has been confirmed as the venue for the next three years.

Played on 15, 18 and 21 September, over 400 players from 16 teams will descend on Taupo to compete across two divisions (premiership and championship) for the Graham Mourie Cup and Michael Jones Trophy. Previous winners of the Graham Mourie Cup are Wellington (2014) and Canterbury (2015), while Southland (2014) and Counties-Manakau (2015) have taken out the Michael Jones Trophy.

Jock Hobbs Memorial National Under 19 Tournament fact file:

• 400 players from 16 teams
• 14 x Provincial Union teams (one from each ITM Cup Provincial Union)
• 1 x Auckland B team
• 1 x Heartland team (combined team with at least one player from each of the 12 Heartland Unions)
• Three match days
• 24 matches (8 per match day)
• Some players from previous tournaments have gone on to Investec Super Rugby contracts – Mitchell Karpik (Chiefs)