Australia team named for Wellington Test

Getty Images     25 Aug 2016     Getty Images

The big talking point in the side is the re-shuffling of the mid field with first five-eighth Bernard Foley shifting out a spot to second five-eighth with Quade Cooper taking over the 10 jersey. Samu Kerevi will play at centre for his first appearance since the second Test loss to England in June. It will be Cooper’s 59th Test and his first appearance for the Wallabies since playing against Uruguay at the 2015 Rugby World Cup.


In the pack, Western Force lock Adam Coleman will start for the Wallabies after making his debut off the bench in the third Test against England in June.
Hard working flanker Scott Fardy has also earned a re-call to the starting side while the imposing Will Skelton will make his return via the bench after sitting out the opening Bledisloe encounter last weekend.

Melbourne Rebels utility Reece Hodge is in line to make his debut after being named on the bench alongside Tevita Kuridrani and Nick Phipps. 

Australia team to play New Zealand in The Rugby Championship at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

1. Scott Sio (19 Tests)
2. Stephen Moore - C (106 Tests)
3. Sekope Kepu (67 Tests)
4. Kane Douglas (24 Tests)
5. Adam Coleman (1 Test)
6. Scott Fardy (34 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (55 Tests)
8. David Pocock (57 Tests)
9. Will Genia (67 Tests)
10. Quade Cooper (58 Tests)
11. Dane Haylett-Petty (4 Tests)
12. Bernard Foley (31 Tests)
13. Samu Kerevi (2 Tests)
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (115 Tests)
15. Israel Folau (42 Tests)

16. Tatafu Polota-Nau (65 Tests)
17. James Slipper (78 Tests)
18. Allan Ala’alatoa (1 Test)
19. Will Skelton (15 Tests)
20. Dean Mumm (47 Tests)
21. Nick Phipps (43 Tests)
22. Tevita Kuridrani (35 Tests)
23. Reece Hodge*