NZ Schools and Barbarians Schools teams named     26 Sep 2016    

The series, to be played in Auckland, involves matches against Fiji Schools and Australia Schools.

New Zealand Schools team:

Damon Abraham (Sacred Heart College) Prop
Caleb Clarke (Mt Albert Grammar School) Wing
Robb Cobb (Mt Albert Grammar School) Prop
Mosese Dawai (Feilding High School) Wing
Tim Farrell (Napier Boys' High School) Prop
Sione Havili (Auckland Grammar School) Loose Forward
Tim Hogan (Otago Boys' High School) Halfback
Brayden Iose (Palmerston North Boys' High School) No.8
Vilimoni Koroi (Feilding High School) Wing
Ciarahn Matoe (King's College) First Five
Laghlan McWhannell (St Peter's School) Lock
Ajay Mua (King's College) No.8
Xavier Numia (St Patrick's College) Wellington Prop
Harry Plummer (St Peter's College) First Five
Carlos Price (St Kentigern College) Halfback
Billy Proctor (St Patrick's College) Wellington Centre
Ngane Punivai (Christ’s College) Fullback
Waimana Reidlinger-Kapa Mt Albert Grammar School Lock
Paul Roache (Mt Albert Grammar School) Second Five
Bradley Slater (New Plymouth Boys' High School) Hooker
Hoskins Sotutu (Sacred Heart College) Loose Forward
Flynn Thomas (Southland Boys' High School) Hooker
Naera Tipoki (Gisborne Boys' High School) Loose Forward

There are a number of returning players from the 2015 New Zealand Schools and New Zealand Barbarians Schools teams. These include Tim Farrell, Braydon Iose, Tim Hogan, Caleb Clarke, Flynn Thomas, Xavier Numia, AJ Mua, Ciarahn Matoe.

New Zealand Schools Coach Jason Holland said that there was a good mix of players who can control the game and athletes who play an exciting brand of rugby. "I'm really excited about the skill level that's been shown by these players at the Development Camp. It's my first year coaching the New Zealand Schools team, so I'm looking forward to helping these players develop and be successful in the International Schools Series."

New Zealand Barbarians Schools team:

Naitoa Ah Kuoi (Wellington College) Lock
Suetena Asomua (Wesley College) Prop
Kaylum Boshier (New Plymouth Boys' High School) No.8
Sam Dickson (Otago Boys High School) Loose Forward
Leicester Faingaanuku (Nelson College) Wing
Folau Fakatava (Hastings Boys High School) Halfback
Connor Garden-Bachop (Scots College) Wing
Scott Gregory (Whangarei Boys High School) Second Five
Ricky Jackson (Otago Boys' High School) Hooker
Joe Johnston (King's College) Loose Forward
Perry Karati (Burnside High School) Hooker
Kianu Kereru-Symes (Hastings Boys' High School) Prop
Niven Longopoa (Mt Albert Grammar School) Fullback
Tevita Mafileo (St Kentigern College) Prop
Sam Matenga Gisborne Boys' High School Prop
Lincoln McClutchie (Hastings Boys' High School) First Five
Matene Ruawai (Palmerston North Boys High School) Loose Forward
Cameron Suafoa (St Peter's College) Lock
Tanielu Bakulich-Tele'a (St Kentigern College) Second Five
Danny Toala (Hastings Boys' High School) Fullback
Kaleb Trask (Rotorua Boys' High School) First Five
Quinn Tupaea (Hamilton Boys' High School) Second Five
Tupou Vaai (Wesley College) Lock

New Zealand Barbarians Head Coach Ryan Martin said; “We’ve got a core group from Top 4 College XV National tournament finalists, Hastings Boys' High School as well as a good spread of talent from around the country which underlines the depth in the school’s game. We’re aiming to play with lots of width and the traditional ‘Barbarian’ flair so I think we're in for an exciting couple of matches."

Unavailable for selection due to injury were Liam Bauckham (Hastings Boys High School) and Will Tremain (Napier Boys High School).

New Zealand Schools and Barbarian Schools fixtures:
Monday 2 October
NZ Barbarians Schools v Australia Schools
Venue: Mount Albert Grammar School
Time: 1.10pm

NZ Schools v Fiji Schools
Venue: Mount Albert Grammar School
Time: 2.50pm

Saturday 8 October
NZ Barbarians Schools v Fiji Schools
Venue: Auckland Grammar School
Time: 1.10pm

NZ Schools v Australia Schools
Venue: Auckland Grammar School
Time: 2.50pm

SKY TV Schedule:
The matches on 8 October will be broadcast on the Rugby Channel on SKY TV.