Veteran ruled out of Vancouver Sevens

Getty Images     11 Mar 2017     Getty Images

Tasman newcomer Andrew Knewstubb moves into the starting 12 to replace Mikkelson and travelling reserve Tone Ng Shiu takes the 13th position for the tournament.

The team is:
Scott Curry – Captain (Bay of Plenty)
Dylan Collier (Southland)
Ambrose Curtis (Manawatu)
DJ Forbes – (Counties Manukau)
Iopu Iopu-Aso (Taranaki)
Trael Joass (Tasman)
Andrew Knewstubb (Tasman)
Vilimoni Koroi (Otago)
Sione Molia (Counties Manukau)
Sherwin Stowers (Counties Manukau)
Isaac Te Tamaki (Waikato)
Beaudein Waaka (Taranaki)

Thirteenth player:
Tone Ng Shiu (Tasman)

All Blacks sevens coach Scott Waldrom said: “Mikkelson picked up a bug during the week and hasn’t quite come right. Given the intensity of these tournaments it is not to the benefit of the team to take in someone who is not 100 percent.”

Schedule for All Blacks Sevens pool play (NZT)

Sunday 12 March 2017
9.04am NZT v Russia
12.40 pm NZT v Scotland
4.20pm NZT v Canada

Monday 13 March 2017
Finals Day

Watch Vancouver Sevens on SKY Sport (NZT)
Day 1: Sunday 12th of March from 6:20 am on SKY Sport Pop-up 1 (CH55)
Day 2: Monday 13th of March from 5:20 am on SKY Sport Pop-up 2 (CH56)